Wednesday’s Wicked, New Books

09.03.2014

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez / @ZaraAlexis

The books have been pouring in, which can only mean a few things:

  1. I have an active constellation acting on my behalf.
  2. My bookshelves are getting a good workout.
  3. My husband will soon suspend my book-buying budget.
  4. I am frantically getting behind on my reading and reviews.
  5. Publishers like me.
  6. Twitter is useful.
  7. Rafflecopter is rigged.
  8. My postman is pissed at me—and I mean really pissed at me.
  9. I squeal and book shimmy about every 10 minutes.
  10. Authors are alive and well and still have a lot of stories to tell.

Here’s a look at the Bibliotaphe’s Closet’s latest additions:

Books for Review:

A special thanks as always to Random House of Canada for sending me the following books for review:

man

Man by Kim Thuy

If this novel is as good as Thuy’s last novel, Ru, then we’re all in for a lyrical read.

book - bone clocks

The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell

book - ten-o-four

10:04 by Ben Lerner

book - stone mattress

Stone Mattress by Margaret Atwood

If you’re an Atwood fan (and really, who isn’t?), you’re going to want to get your hands on her new collection of short stories. I loved her last collection, Moral Disorder, so I’m excited to read this as soon as I can.

And of course, a special thanks to Quirk Books for sending me the following book for review:

book - horrorstor

Horrorstor by Grady Hendrix

When this first arrived, I absolutely fell in love with its book design. I don’t actually have to say which catalogue it resembles,  do I? I don’t think I’ll be able to look at my furniture the same way again.

Thanks to author, Eric Smith, for sending me a copy of his book (and its matching poster) for review. I haven’t hung the poster on the wall yet, only because I need to go out and buy a couple of gigantic frames. Nevertheless, I look forward to decorating my office soon with book posters galore. As for being a geek, yes, I am one.

book - geek's guide to dating

The Geek’s Guide to Dating by Eric Smith

Books I Won:

I apparently have an entire (yet unnamed) constellation dedicated to my good fortune. This constellation, though, seems to only favour me in winning only books because I haven’t yet won the lottery—then again, there is a HUGE money pot up for grabs this Friday, which means I’ll have to talk this constellation up for me to have even a little crack at winning.

Nevertheless, I have a heart full of thanks to send out to many generous publishers and authors who have chosen me as the recipient of their book giveaways and contests. Me and my bookshelves are honoured!

Thanks to Penguin Random House on behalf of Razorbill and the Bloggers & Books Network Program for sending me the following book:

book - art of getting stared at

The Art of Getting Stared At by Laura Langston

I don’t have the tendency to get stared at, unless of course, I have something on my face like the remnants of the last cupcake I’ve devoured. Only then do people notice me. Still, this book looks good to read.

Thanks to my special friends at Simon & Schuster Canada for sending me a copy of the following for review:

book - mating for life

Mating for Life by Marissa Stapley

Personally, I mate for life. After being married a good 12 years to who I consider the sexiest man alive this year and for every year after, I know I’m in it forever. (I hope this book is as positive about marriage as I am.)

Thanks to Source Books who host a monthly book chat and for sending me a copy of the following:

book - paris architect

The Paris Architect by Charles Belfoure

I love Paris. I haven’t been to Paris, but I love it still. And I look forward to reading this politically charged novel.

A big high-five to the folks at Retreat Random House of Canada for hosting a read-along. I was lucky enough to be one of the winners on the Rafflecopter to score a new edition of this book:

book - remains of the day

The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro

Congratulations to author, Josephine Angelini, on her new publication of this bewitching YA, paranormal book. I’m glad to be one of the few winners who snagged an ARC from her blog giveaway:

book - trial by fire

Trial By Fire by Josephine Angelini

Tor Books sent me more magic by sending me a copy of this book, plus a cute Tor Books recycling bag as the winner of their giveaway contest. Thanks, Tor Books!

book - copper magic

Copper Magic by Julia Mary Gibson

Steph from the book blog, Feisty Little Woman, sent me a personal note along with my book prize from her giveaway. I was so pleased to receive both. Thanks, Steph!

book - interference

Interference by Michelle Berry

And thanks to the marketing folks on Twitter on behalf of Hyperion for sending me this book from their Twitter giveaway. I’m looking forward to reading all about Rosie:

book - love rosie

Love, Rosie by Cecilia Ahern

And last, but not least, a special thanks goes out to Giselle, a fellow book blogger whose reviews are as great as her web design! Be sure to check out her the book blog, Book Nerd. She sent me my choice of prize from her August 2014 Book Outlet Giveaway:

book - sharp time

The Sharp Time by Mary O’Connell

Books I Bought:

These YA books caught my eye not only because of their plots and cover designs, but because of their unbelievable prices! Yes, I bought these babies on sale and the discount was so deep, they felt like they were almost free!

book - because it is my blood

Because It Is My Blood by Gabrielle Zevin

book - cross my heart

Cross My Heart by Sasha Gould

***

Based on the number of books in this collection, I think it’s fair to say that all the reasons I listed above most likely all apply to why these books may have poured in at once! Thanks to my loyal constellation, the generosity of publishers and authors, and the patience of my dutiful and hardworking postman.

(Here’s hoping that my luck is even better when I play the lottery on Friday…)

***

Of all the books listed above, which are you most interested in reading and why?

Do you have any of these in your collection?

Which ones would you like to add to your bookshelf?

What’s the last prize you won?

***

zara cat stamp

 

4 thoughts on “Wednesday’s Wicked, New Books”

  1. Wow, you are going to be very reading! I think there is constellation pointed in your direction. I read Man by Kim Thuy recently and was surprised by how beautiful and impressive the book was to read. I’m currently reading The Remains of the Day for the read-along.

    1. Do you review books on behalf of Random House of Canada? I can’t wait to read Man. Kim Thuy is wonderful to read. Can’t wait to chat with you about Remains of the Day for the read-along, too. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

