Stuffing the Bibliotaphe Closet

04.07.2014

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez / @ZaraAlexis

The book hoarder in me is still alive and well though I’ve done my best to be a little more self-controlled. And even though I haven’t purchased a slew of books this week, they have (much to my husband’s dismay) come in consistently.

My worry now, seems to be how to house all these literary treasures! I may just have to swallow my pride, bite the bullet and buy an e-reader? I don’t know. I still prefer a tactile read than I do reading online. I’m going to have to see how long I can hold out before getting a Kindle…

Here’s The Bibliotaphe Closet’s latest additions:

Books for Review:

A special thanks to Random House of Canada for providing me with a copy of the following for review:

word exchange cvr

The Word Exchange by Alena Graedon, published by Doubleday Canada.

***

Books I Bought:

casual vacancy

The Casual Vacancy by J. K. Rowling,

published by Little Brown and Company

***

419

419 by Will Ferguson, published by Penguin Group Canada

***

juliet

Juliet by Anne Fortier, published by Harper Collins

***

Of the books listed above, which are you most interested in reading and why?

Which book of the above do you think I should read next?

Do you judge books by their covers?

What have you added to your book collection this week?

***

zara cat stamp

4 thoughts on “Stuffing the Bibliotaphe Closet”

  1. I can’t wait to read The Word Exchange! I’ve heard nothing but good things about it! I have The Casual Vacancy but it’s taking me an embarrassingly long amount of time to read it… Not sure what it is about Rowling’s adult fiction but I haven’t been able to get into them. I’m halfway through The Cuckoo’s Calling too…

  2. 419 has an exotic/hot topic aspect to it, that’s what made it attractive to me. Good pace to the story too. I just don’t quite get how that got to be a Giller Prize winner though.For intricacy of plot, The Casual Vacancy was quite satisfying. I highly recommend it.

    1. The fact that 419 was named a Giller winner is what first attracted me to the book. And while I’m a little hesitant to read J.K. Rowling’s book because I wasn’t sure how she would do with adult fiction, your recommendation certainly helps. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

