Stuffing the Bibliotaphe Closet

02.25.2014

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez / @ZaraAlexis

I was unable to post anything yesterday because I was bedridden shivering with a fever, in pain, and what turns out to be strep throat. Thankfully, I was able to see a doctor, get tested, and receive a prescription for antibiotics with the orders to drink a lot of fluids and to get a lot of rest for about a week.

So between my feverish hallucinations, those of my room closing in on me, my body flailing about in indecipherable groans, and the incessant, heavy pain I must endure regardless of what position I put my body in, the rough, hacking cough that abruptly disturbs my quasi-rest, as well as my drug-induced coma, which forces me to breathe through my mouth instead of my nose; I can hear the erratic buzz of my breathing from a congested chest due to a vicious, viral cold that made its home in my body, and the sludge of saliva I must swallow even though my throat is constricted and it hurts to swallow, breath, or talk.

Between a groggy wakefulness and the nightmare of unrest, I still take comfort in the accessibility and solace of a good book. Reading is about the only thing I have strength enough for while bedridden. And so, it’s with gratefulness that I showcase the books that have made their way into The Bibliotaphe Closet by means of generous publishers:

Books for Review:

all the broken things

All the Broken Things by Kathryn Kuitenbrouwer, published by Random House of Canada

one more thing

One More Thing: Stories and Other Stories by B.J. Novak, published by Knopf Doubleday Canada

book of jonah

The Book of Jonah by Joshua Max Feldman, published by Doubleday Canada

bear

The Bear by Claire Cameron, published by Doubleday Canada

all our names

All Our Names by Dinaw Mengestu, published by Doubleday Canada

Books I Won:

golden city

The Golden City by J. Kathleen Cheney, courtesy of Penguin Canada

demonologist

The Demonologist by Andrew Pyper, courtesy of Simon & Schuster Canada

unforgotten

Unforgotten by Jessica Brody, courtesy of Farrar Straus Giroux

ignite me

Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi, courtesy of HarperCollins Canada

***

And since I am bedridden, ordered by the doctor to drink lots of fluids, and get a lot of rest, I’m going to lay back down—with my books, of course, and enthrall myself in the saving grace of a well-written narrative—a few pages I hope, before my next razor blade cough.

***

Of all the books listed above, which book might you be most interested in reading?

What did you add to your personal book collection this week?

Which book do you think I should read next?

***

zara cat stamp

Leave a Reply

