Fanatic Friday: Starbucks – Treat for $2

zara red hair avatar - fanatic friday

Fanatic Friday: Starbucks – Treat for $2

01.17.2014

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez / @ZaraAlexis

It’s difficult to separate the book lover (and the writer) from cafes and the coffee that they house—which is why you can most often find me at one. I’m the permanent fixture at a table nearest to an outlet should my laptop require a refuelling juice-up at Starbucks. If I’m alone I’ll sit and read a book, its pages usually guarding me from unwarranted social interaction with strangers or I’ll be typing away at my laptop simultaneously working on a blog post (like this one) and periodically checking my Gmail, Facebook, and Twitter accounts, while messaging my sister on the latest news of my whereabouts or more importantly my “dramatic, emotional” status. (Hey, that’s what sisters are for.)

But, why Starbucks, you ask? Well, aside from their diversified, daily playlist; their extra-polite baristas in cute, green smocks; their gigantic mugs with seductive mermaid logo for sale; and the promise of the mellow atmosphere filled with the buzz of dramatic, chatty patrons; Starbucks also provides complimentary Wi-Fi and a number of outlets in which customers can enjoy all-day, online autonomy—while sipping a decadent, custom-made latte with extra whipped cream on top. Not to mention their artsy gift cards and Gold Membership rewards.

My Starbucls Gold Card. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.
My Starbucks Gold Card. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.

***

"There's a story in every coffee." Starbucks front door. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.
“There’s a story in every coffee.” Starbucks front door. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.

***

I frequent Starbucks almost as often as I leave my house. I could make a cup of coffee at home, but I don’t. Also because a number of Starbucks locations sit alongside my other favourite hangout: Chapters-Indigo, a large retail book haven for bibliotaphes like myself. Imagine—the latest books, fair-trade coffee, café tables, and Putomayo music. Where else would readers go other than their local public library or the confines of their home?

***

For Fanatic Friday, I’m featuring Starbucks with extra love. I even have a little collection of my own to prove it:

starbucks mugs

***

Regardless of how many mugs I already own, I can’t stop myself from buying more…and most of them come from Starbucks. Even my reusable Starbucks mug isn’t featured here because it’s dirty and still sitting in my sink on account that I used it this morning.

***

Which brings me to a kind reminder to fans of the Starbucks franchise.

If you make a purchase at Starbucks in the morning and keep your receipt, you can submit your receipt to get any custom-made grande latte after 2:00 p.m. until close, now until January 19—

which gives you only this weekend to splurge and treat yourself to one of my favourite Starbucks’ drinks!

Don’t forget to ask for your receipt and keep it handy until after 2:00 p.m. for a $2.00 grande latte. It’s such a treat, you’ll want to hang out at Starbucks for the entire weekend. (If you do, be sure to say “hi,” since I’ll most likely be at a table, too.)

My Starbucks grande latte. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.
My Starbucks grande latte. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.

***

(I received no compensation for this promotional post.)

***

What’s your favourite drink at Starbucks?

***

zara stamp

Leave a Reply

