Tune-In Tuesday: “Real and True”

zara red hair avatar - tune in tuesday

Tune-In Tuesday: “Real and True”

01.14.2014

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez / @ZaraAlexis

While I’m not an avid musician like my husband whose self-taught training in classical guitar has earned him the title, The Sexiest Man Alive in Our Household, my musical beginnings started with the use of my vocal chords. By age eight, I was an active participant in my school and church choir, singing all throughout high school and university. My singing voice has always been a form of comfort and solace, a companion when alone in the quiet. I sing everywhere and at anytime, but tend to shy away when asked to sing in public, though I’ve been successfully coerced into singing karaoke or crooning to a song in “Rock Band” with my family at rambunctious gatherings. While my secret dream of being a lead singer of a band who tours the UK has not yet had the chance to come true, I still connect strongly with music that I discover and love, which brings me to the creation of this meme: Tune-In Tuesday. I thought it would add a little variety and fun to feature a recently discovered or favourite song for the week in lieu of the days I don’t participate in the usual Top 10 Tuesday meme.

My choice for Tune-In Tuesday is the song, Real and True, written and performed by the rapper, “Future” (Nayvadius Wilburn), singers, Miley Cyrus, and Mr. Hudson (Benjamin Hudson McIldowie).

Though it was released on November 5, 2013, I discovered the song on YouTube during a search for the infamous release of Wrecking Ball by Miley Cyrus. Instead of being drawn to Wrecking Ball’s controversy, I was instead impressed with the collaboration between Future, Cyrus, and Hudson for their vocal, rap, and electronic infusion.

The combination of their voices is eclectic as is the “space” theme of the song, which was creatively filmed with Cyrus completely painted in silver glitter while Future and Hudson dressed as astronauts discover her on what is assumed to be a distant planet.

I listened to the lyrics and immediately connected with them, associating them with my own, personal relationship with my husband. It soon became a favourite anthem, a romantic piece about the longevity and tenacity of genuine relationship.

Here are the lyrics:

When the sun dies and the stars fade from view our love will remain real and true

Through the distant and cold depths of space

The radio sings our song, it’s a love real and true

Hold on, hold on, hold up Future, what the fuck you doin’?

You can annihilate way more chicks than the chick you screwin’

You on top of your game, homie, man you a star

You got real bitches, they love that nigga that you are

They say you’re like Jimi Hendrix, in his early twenties

You in Vegas, you supposed to be with a snow bunny

You a player, huh, you wanna come around and save her

Keep it trill, you lovin’ her just as much as your career

You mad ill, I knew you’d be the one to keep it real

And I can’t even lie dawg, when I see y’all it gives me chills

And I’m a stand behind y’all because I know the way you live

Aye just do me this favor, give it time, time reveals

When the sun dies and the stars fade from view

Our love will remain real and true

Through the distant and cold depths of space

The radio sings our song, it’s a love real and true

We’ve been in the same place, for a long, long time

If our hearts go the wrong way, I still know you’re mine

Should we even try to fight it? If our love is trapped in all ways

I know that things been rough

But when you’re by my side

It’s more than enough, yeah

For us to make it through the test of time

When the sun dies and the stars fade from view

Our love will remain real and true

Through the distant and cold depths of space

The radio sings our song, it’s a love real and true

Standin’ in the middle of humility

Can’t nobody never love you more than me

Can’t nobody never love you more than me

If love is all you need, I’m all you’ll ever need

I can never be scared of commitment

I can prevail through life without bein’ malicious

I can’t hold you for responsible for your mischiefs

I hope you are never huntin’ me with vengeance

I’m not predictin’ anything, I’m just listenin’

Congratulations, you made it, you coulda missed it

And I’m acceptin’ your past but forgiveness

And with all the mistakes I’ve made, you’re still listenin’

When the sun dies and the stars fade from view

Our love will remain real and true

Through the distant and cold depths of space

The radio sings our song, it’s a love real and true.

***

Zara’s Rating

z ring - smallz ring - smallz ring - smallz ring - smallz ring - small

***

What do you think of the song, “Real and True”?

If you like it, what did you like most about it?

If you don’t like it, what about it don’t you like?

What elements of the video do you enjoy/not enjoy?

***

zara stamp

Leave a Reply

