It Seems I’m Turning into a Cat

zara cat ears

It Seems I’m Turning into a Cat

12.11.2013

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez / @ZaraAlexis

Have you heard of the lady who lived with twelve cats? Well, when I was in college, I was certain that I would be one of those women. Sadly to say, I later discovered that I’m extremely allergic to cat dander. Being near one or going to someone’s house with a cat will only guarantee an outbreak of hives, choking, lack of breath, and potentially my permanent demise—death.

Melodramatic? Absolutely. I’ve never had a good relationship with cats. They pounce. They scratch. And their dander is deadly. So, instead of living a life of solitude in an apartment full of cats, I found instead, a hypoallergenic husband. It wasn’t intentional, it happened, as most things do—unexpectedly.

That said, while I can’t be near cats, I’ve recently come up with a much healthier alternative. While it was also not intentional, it seems I’ve fallen in love with the leopard. Or more specifically, anything with leopard print.

Call it a fashion trend; I call it my latest obsession. Here are a few items in my personal collection:

Leopard "Fierce" t-shirt. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.
Leopard “Fierce” t-shirt. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.

***

Leopard pants. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.
Leopard pants. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.

***

Leopard studded heels. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.
Leopard studded heels. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.

***

Leopard face wallet. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.
Leopard face wallet. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.

***

Leopard stud wallet. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.
Leopard stud wallet. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.

***

Leopard makeup bag. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.
Leopard makeup bag. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.

***

Leopard phone clutch. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.
Leopard phone clutch. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.

***

Leopard cat ears. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.
Leopard cat ears. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.

***

Leopard ear muffs. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.
Leopard ear muffs. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.

***

Leopard earrings. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.
Leopard earrings. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.

***

Leopard ring. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.
Leopard ring. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.

***

Leopard keychain. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.
Leopard keychain. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.

***

What Is the Difference Between a Leopard and a Cheetah Anyway?

Many people are unable to differentiate between the leopard and its counterpart cat, the cheetah. I admit, I used to confuse them, too. But, with this simple comparison chart, readers will never confuse the leopard from the cheetah again.

Leopard

leopard

***

  • yellow fur with black rosettes
  • hunts during the night
  • stockier with shorter legs than a cheetah
  • 428 to 476 lbs.
  • speed: 97 km/hr
  • 2-4 in a litter

Cheetah

cheetah

***

  • tan fur with black spots
  • hunts during the day
  • taller and leaner than a leopard
  • 46 to 160 lbs.
  • speed: 121 km/hr
  • 3-5 in a litter

***

Which big cat are you?

Do you have an obsession other than books?

***

zara bird autograph

2 thoughts on “It Seems I’m Turning into a Cat”

  1. I just bought a leopard (cheetah?) print dress from Dress Barn. Looks like that’s the only thing you don’t have yet! I wonder what new leopard-print items you’ll get for Christmas! Maybe someone will think of getting you the book “The Leopard” by Giuseppe Tomasi di Lampedusa, to combine two of your interests!

    1. Oh, a leopard dress! That’s brave, and yes, I’m jealous. I don’t have one of those yet! But, rest assured, I did receive a number of leopard-print inspired gifts for Christmas and my birthday! Meow!

Leave a Reply

