Stuffing the Bibliotaphe Closet. 09.09.2013

stuffing the bibliotaphe closet avatar - wallpaper

Stuffing the Bibliotaphe Closet

09.09.2013

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez / @ZaraAlexis

This meme “Stuffing the Bibliotaphe Closet” was inspired by the original meme that I participated in and which many of you may be familiar with: “Stacking the Shelves” hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. My posts will take the format of books and bookish items (including SWAG) that I have:

  • received from publishers and/or authors for review
  • purchased
  • received as a gift or prize through winning a contest

***

Books for Review:

maddaddam trilogy

***

I am so thrilled to finally be able to complete my collection of Margaret Atwood’s trilogy, Oryx and Crake. A special thanks to Random House of Canada on behalf of McClelland & Stewart for sending me the last book in the trilogy, MaddAddam, which was published and available on bookshelves on August 27, 2013.

I have completed the book (and the trilogy) and will post my review online soon!

***

random house books - september 2013

***

A special thank you to Random House of Canada for these wonderful new releases for review:

Night Film by Marisha Pessl

Joseph Anton: A Memoir by Salman Rushdie

The Son of a Certain Woman by Wayne Johnston

***

house of anansi - october books

***

A special thanks to House of Anansi on behalf of Granta for providing me with this book for review:

Secrecy by Rupert Thomson

***

Books I Bought:

book buys september 2013

***

Even though I have a collection of books that surpass what I can probably read in a lifetime, I can’t help but buy more books. There will always be stories to be told and excellent writers to write them. If I was wealthy enough to move and build my own home, I would most likely make it into a large-scale library.

Here are the two books that beckoned and bagged me this month:

The Shoemaker’s Wife by Adriana Trigiani

The Golem and the Jinni by Helene Wecker

***

Books I Won:

september prizes 1

***

september prizes 2

***

It’s been my belief that “it never hurts to try” especially when it comes to book contest giveaways. You can’t win, if you don’t play, right?

While I’ve been lucky enough in the past to be randomly chosen by the infamous Rafflecopter or Number Generator or the kindness and generosity of the marketing staff of book publishers that busily tweet on Twitter, I can’t help, but be grateful to win books!

This is what my lucky stars brought me this month:

All I Need by Susane Colasanti

The Lovebird by Natalie Brown

Burial Rites by Hannah Kent

Muse by Mary Novik

***

How have you stuffed your reading closet today?

Out of the books I’ve listed above, which ones interest you the most?

Have you read any of the titles yet? What did you think?

***

zara bird autograph

One thought on “Stuffing the Bibliotaphe Closet. 09.09.2013”

  1. I want to read so many of them! I have the whole Margaret Atwood trilogy still to be read and I would like to listen to The Golem and the Jinni on audio, I think. Night Film and Joseph Anton are on my list of definite maybes, and I should probably read Burial Rites too!

Leave a Reply

