Writing Wednesday: Book Spine Poem 2: 06.20.2013

writing wednesday - blue border

Writing Wednesday:

Book Spine Poem 2

06.20.2013

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez / @ZaraAlexis

While I’m online, a lot of my time is spent listening in on tweets from the book community and because of this I was recently inspired to create a weekly sub-meme as part of Writing WednesdaysBook Spine Poetry—which consists of piling up books with the intention of creating poetry by the use of only titles. No words can be added by the author, nor can books be used unless they are owned and part of the author’s book collection, which means the more books you own, the more lines of poetry you can create!

Because I love the ingenuity of this idea, I’d like to be able to create my own Book Spine Poetry every Wednesday for the Writing Wednesdays meme!

Here’s my book spine poem for today:

book spine poem 2a

book spine poem 2b

book spine poem 2c

book spine poem 2d

book spine poem 2e

book spine poem 2f

book spine poem 2g

***

Book Spine Poem 2

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez

You went away

miles from nowhere

changing heaven

holding my breath.

***

Remember me:

The Imposter

The Taker

The Ice Queen

An atlas of impossible longing.

***

Courage, My Love,

The future of us,

the promise;

the love of a good woman,

her fearful symmetry

royally crushed.

***

The dead are more visible,

dancing girls

from the Fifteenth District

driving men mad.

***

Women know everything:

diplomacy in the digital age,

unquenchable, hot sex

(and how to do it

beyond religion).

***

Remember me:

small wars,

my best stories,

thirteen reasons why…

The Sweet Girl,

The girl who could silence

the wind—

The Tiger’s Wife.

***

(c) By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.

***

zara alexis blog signature

One thought on “Writing Wednesday: Book Spine Poem 2: 06.20.2013”

Leave a Reply

