Nail Polish Lottery Club: Week 23

nail polish - avatar

Nail Polish Lottery Club:

Week 23

06.17.2013

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez / @ZaraAlexis

The Nail Polish Lottery Club creates a fun way in which to go through your unused/untried nail polish by selecting a random number each week on Mondays at 8:00 p.m. Based on members’ spreadsheet/database lists, whatever number corresponds on the list with the random number chosen, is the colour to try, wear, and post or v-blog about!

Would you like to join the club? Are you a nail polish hoarder? A secret nail painter? Do those colourful bottles just take your breath (and your budget) away every time you visit the beauty section of a store? Or would you like to just paint your nails from time to time and aren’t sure which polish to choose? Then this place is for you! (And Lindsay…and me…and oh, I don’t know how many others!).

For more details, check out the Nail Polish Lottery Guidelines here.

***

This week’s random number is 220.

 If you don’t have that many polishes you can either use number 22 or 2+2= number 4 on your list.

Me? Well, to be honest, I cheated a little. This week’s nail polish isn’t actually in my collection, though I wish it was. This past Saturday was my husband’s nephews wedding, which if you translate that to a nail-fiend like myself, it really means: time to get a manicure and pedicure!

So, for my nephew’s wedding, I chose the following colour for my manicure:

O.P.I.: Don’t Pretzel My Buttons

nails OPI - don't pretzel my buttons

***

I’m not highly fond of the social pressures usually associated with weddings. There’s the dress to choose, the diet to go on, the number of people you expect not to know, plus the social etiquette required to shine in conversation, but also remain politically correct, as well as perfectly neat when eating food in front of strangers. And all this in heels!

But, the wonderful thing about weddings to a nail-fiend like myself is the opportunity and perfect excuse to get a manicure and a pedicure done!

So, on Friday night, I went out while my husband took care of the kids and chose this O.P.I. colour. Don’t Pretzel My Buttons is a wonderful nude and creamy shade, easily worn by any skin tone. And the best thing about it is that I can wear it after the wedding because it goes with absolutely everything. I love it!

Unfortunately, I don’t yet own it as part of my nail polish collection, which only means I have another colour to look forward to buying! Yes! Don’t Pretzel My Buttons because I’m buying this perfect shade even if I already own 200+ colours. Because for the hardcore nail polish collector and wearer, you can never have too many bottles (just ask my nail polish heroine and book blogging friend, Lindsay from Always a Girly Girl!).

Short story? O.P.I. = best brand in my nail polish world. Don’t Pretzel My Buttons = best nude shade that I’ve tried so far for my skin tone!

And the better news is that the wedding I attended was intimate and heartfelt. The ceremony was simple and focused on God’s presence in the couple’s lives, which was beautiful and a true blessing. In cases like this, it’s true when it’s said, “Less is more.” I loved that there wasn’t a crazy fanfare and that the most important people in the couples’ lives were there. No need for 500 people to attend, but a few important witnesses to support their union…and perhaps one person in particular, pretzled by buttons, but who cares? I had lovely nails, regardless, and a great time!

nails - OPI dont pretzel my buttons2

***

And, just because I love nails, don’t think I’ve forgotten about my other love — books!

To integrate both loves, I’ve decided to also include with my nail lottery posts, a book cover(s) that I own in my library that I think complements or can be said to inspire the nail polish colour of choice or its art.

nails - the aftermath

***

This week’s book nail polish match is The Aftermath by Rhidian Brook.

***

Have you ever tried the O.P.I. Don’t Pretzel My Buttons nail polish? How did you like it?

Do you like wearing nude colours on your nails? Why or why not?

What are you wearing on your nails this week?

***

zara alexis blog signature

Leave a Reply

