Top 10 Tuesday: Top 10 Beach Reads

top 10 tuesday avatar wallpaper

Top 10 Tuesday:

Top 10 Beach Reads

06.11.2013

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez / @ZaraAlexis

I’m not sure I understand the true premise of this topic. What’s the difference between reading a good book at the beach or on your porch or in a café? To me, a good book is simply that—a good book—regardless of where you read it. What then could I possibly use as my criteria for choosing books to read at a beach?

That, too, is a little difficult for me. Reading at a beach. If I’m at a beach, I’m there to swim, not necessarily to read. And I care far too much about my skin to try to get a tan. I leave toasting to champagne and freshly sliced bread.

Nevertheless, since this is the topic for today and if perhaps under the following circumstances:

  • I have a huge umbrella to provide me with shade
  • it’s not extremely hot outside
  • the beach isn’t over-crowded with exhibitionists
  • and I’m afforded the quiet I like when reading a book—

then yes, I’d pack these trade paperbacks that I already own into my beach bag (in any order):

The World We Found by Thrity Umrigar, published by HarperCollins Publishers

world we found cvr

***

An Atlas of Impossible Longing by  Anuradha Roy, published by Free Press, imprint of Simon & Schuster

atlas impossible longing cvr

***

Ru bu Kim Thuy, published by Vintage Canada

ru - book cvr

***

The Sense of an Ending by Julian Barnes, published by Random House of Canada

sense of an ending

***

Alif the Unseen by G. Willow Wilson, published by Grove Press

alif the unseen

***

This Burns My Heart by Samuel Park, published by Simon & Schuster

this burns my heart

***

We Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver, published by HarperCollins Publishers

we need to talk about kevin

***

The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman, published by Simon & Schuster

light between oceans

***

The Unchangeable Spots of  Leopards by Kristopher Jansma, published by Penguin Canada

the unchangeable spots of leopards

***

Magnified World by Grace O’Connell, published by Random House of Canada

magnified world

***

Any of these books look like wonderful reads and I’d trek around with these to the beach, an outdoor patio, or café any day!

***

Have you read any of the above books? If so, which ones?

Which books from above did you enjoy the most?

If you haven’t yet read the books above, which one do you think you might like to take with you to the beach?

What’s on your top 10 beach reads?

***

zara alexis blog signature

3 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday: Top 10 Beach Reads”

Leave a Reply

