Nail Polish Lottery Club: Week 21

nail polish - avatar

Nail Polish Lottery Club:

Week 21

06.2.2013

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez / @ZaraAlexis

The Nail Polish Lottery Club creates a fun way in which to go through your unused/untried nail polish by selecting a random number each week on Mondays at 8:00 p.m. Based on members’ spreadsheet/database lists, whatever number corresponds on the list with the random number chosen, is the colour to try, wear, and post or v-blog about!

Would you like to join the club? Are you a nail polish hoarder? A secret nail painter? Do those colourful bottles just take your breath (and your budget) away every time you visit the beauty section of a store? Or would you like to just paint your nails from time to time and aren’t sure which polish to choose? Then this place is for you! (And Lindsay…and me…and oh, I don’t know how many others!).

For more details, check out the Nail Polish Lottery Guidelines here.

***

This week’s random number is 22.

Number 22 on my nail polish spreadsheet listed is:

OPI

You Don’t Know Jacques!

OPI you dont know jacques

***

nails - OPI you dont know jacques

***

nails - OPI you dont know jacques2

***

You may not know Jacques—but after painting my nails with this OPI You Don’t Know Jacques colour, I know Jacques well. And I’m so glad I do.

First off, I have no qualms paying a little more for a better polish. When I was a young, nail polish novice, I simply thought that the OPI brand was overrated. Well, of course I did. I couldn’t afford to wear any!  Oh, but as my love for nail polish grew—pretty much as fast as my own nails do—I learned quickly that it’s better to pay premium for a nail polish bottle than it is to opt for frugality  or thriftiness. These are nails we’re talking about. And the wrong nail polish can make or break the kind of look you’re going after. It’s like wine. Buy a cheap bottle and you’re most likely going to get crap. Buy a better bottle and well…voilà…c’est très magnifique!

Which leaves me to my love of OPI Nail Lacquer. Not one OPI bottle has ever failed my expectations. Not. One. And when it comes to nail polish, I’m pretty particular especially since I have an approximate collection of 200+ bottles! (Let’s just say, I love and wear nail polish more than the average girl.)

And the OPI You Don’t Know Jacques didn’t disappoint. So much so, that one of my new favourite colours is now taupe. I put on one coat and yes…my nails were simply happy. (And my nails aren’t easily pleased. They chip, they crack, they stain, and they even have cuticles! Oh my!) But, brushing on OPI Nail Lacquer is like giving my nails a special treat, a spoiling of sorts. If you want to get your nails done the salon way, OPI Nail Lacquer is the way to go!

The OPI You Don’t Know Jacques went on smoothly in a perfect dose of two coats. No bleeds. No fuss. And I’m a pretty sloppy painter. Plus, I have a short nailbed! Nevertheless, the application was oh-so-smooth, the colour clean and classic, strong, yet non-overpowering. And the wear is just as great. No chips, no fading after washing the dishes a couple of times.

You may not know Jacques now, but as a nail lacquer, I highly suggest you do. OPI You Don’t Know Jacques is a wonderful addition to my collection and a colour I’ll be wearing more often than once and at any time of the year. (Pssh-shaw, seasonal colours! This colour is for me, a gem that I’ll be wearing in the spring, summer, winter, and fall!)

And, just because I love nails, don’t think I’ve forgotten about my other love — books!

To integrate both loves, I’ve decided to also include with my nail lottery posts, a book cover(s) that I own in my library that I think complements or can be said to inspire the nail polish colour of choice or its art.

book1 - OPI you dont know jacques

***

The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy

book2 - OPI you dont know jacques

***

Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden

***

What is your favourite nail polish brand?

What is your favourite OPI nail polish colour?

What are you wearing on your nails today?

***

zara alexis blog signature

One thought on “Nail Polish Lottery Club: Week 21”

  1. I love you don’t know Jacques as well. Maybe there is only one complaint, my bottle is a little on the thin side. But with a little careful application it looks great!

Leave a Reply

