Nail Polish Lottery Club: Week 20

nail polish - avatar

Nail Polish Lottery Club:

Week 20

05.26.2013

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez / @ZaraAlexis

The Nail Polish Lottery Club creates a fun way in which to go through your unused/untried nail polish by selecting a random number each week on Mondays at 8:00 p.m. Based on members’ spreadsheet/database lists, whatever number corresponds on the list with the random number chosen, is the colour to try, wear, and post or v-blog about!

Would you like to join the club? Are you a nail polish hoarder? A secret nail painter? Do those colourful bottles just take your breath (and your budget) away every time you visit the beauty section of a store? Or would you like to just paint your nails from time to time and aren’t sure which polish to choose? Then this place is for you! (And Lindsay…and me…and oh, I don’t know how many others!).

For more details, check out the Nail Polish Lottery Guidelines here.

***

It’s been a while since I’ve blogged about nail polish, let alone put a coat of polish on—(GASP!)—yes, I know. It’s so unlike me. Yet, it has been a weary past few months filled with illnesses, surgeries, even deaths in my family, and thus a disappearance from blogging on a daily basis, let alone time for an uplifting coat or two on my nails.

Still, I decided with spring here (though the weather has been up and down lately) that I’d finally go through my collection and see which lucky bottle gets to be open this week due to the commitment of those part of The Nail Polish Lottery Club! And lo and behold!

This week’s random number is 175.

Number 175 on my nail polish spreadsheet listed is:

NYC #149

Boat Basin

NYC boat basin

***

nails - NYC boat basin

***

nails2 - NYC boat basin

***

This colour is a true blue; not a dark navy, nor a baby sky, nor a teal. It’s blue as blue can be. But happy about it. I’m not really sure why it’s called Boat Basin, though the colour is reminiscent of the wonderful blue of a beach. It’s a new addition to the NYC collection and just in time for spring. The colour came through with two to three coats, which is expected with the NYC brand, and while I like the colour and the variety of colours in  the NYC line, its wear isn’t as long as it boasts. It chipped an hour after I put it on. But, it’s a kind of denim colour that’s fun for your fingernails and perfect for spring. While I don’t favour bright colours, I’ll always venture to put on a lighter shade for the heck of it. What’s a collection for, if not to try new colours and brands?

And, just because I love nails, don’t think I’ve forgotten about my other love — books!

To integrate both loves, I’ve decided to also include with my nail lottery posts, a book cover(s) that I own in my library that I think complements or can be said to inspire the nail polish colour of choice or its art.

***

nails - NYC boat basin and book

***

This book-nail polish match is:

Amaryllis in Blueberry by  Christina Meldrum.

I haven’t yet read the book, but what a gorgeous cover!

***

What’s your favourite shade of blue from your nail polish collection?

What brand and shade are you wearing now?

What nail polish are you looking forward to getting soon?

***

zara alexis blog signature

Leave a Reply

