Easter: The Kids Go on an Egg Hunt!

events avatar

Easter: The Kids Go on an Egg Hunt!

03.31.2013

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez / @ZaraAlexis

While my family and I recognize Easter as the center of our Christian faith, it didn’t stop us from coming together as a family to eat, celebrate and treat the children to a fun, traditional Spring Easter egg hunt!

The plans were made quite last-minute, but it turned out to be a fun, festive celebration. While we rejoiced in our hearts of our Lord, Jesus Christ’s resurrection, we also rejoiced in the company of each other, and the fun our children had.

Here are a few pictures to commemorate our Easter celebration:

chickadee cupcakes

***

My “Chickadee Cupcakes.” I glued googly-eyes and small, orange foam triangles onto yellow popsicle sticks. For an added touch, you can use white icing for the cupcakes for the “hatched egg.” I opted not to use icing since I knew the day would already be filled with sweet goodies.

***

easter eggs

***

Colourful eggs filled with stickers, chocolates, jelly beans, gum, and messages of Jesus’ resurrection.

***

bunny bags

***

Since I knew that the kids wouldn’t get the same number of eggs on their egg hunt, I created individual “Bunny Bags” filled with treats for each one of them. The “Bunny Bags” were filled with wholesome snacks, candies, chocolates, and stickers.

***

elias gift

***

Because my nephew, Elias, is the youngest and can’t eat chocolate or candies yet, I got him his own special treat—his favourite type of toy in the world—a school bus!

***

buffet

***

The buffet: Chicken fennel, BBQ chicken, pasta salad, macaroni salad, veggie lasagne, shrimp endives, banana bread, cupcakes. Yummy!

***

easter lily

***

One of my favourite flowers: the Easter lily.

***

michael bunny bag

***

Michael, excited about his “Bunny Bag!” My eldest was an expert egg-hunter!

***

mercedes bunny bag

***

Mercedes absolutely thrilled about her bunny bag! Yay!

***

gavin bunny bag

***

Gavin, so happy, he can’t keep his eyes open! Woo-hoo!

***

elias bus

***

My nephew, Elias, enjoying his new school bus (the boy is OBSESSED with school buses!).

***

bunny cheerleaders

***

The kids’ Easter egg hunt cheerleaders!

***

egg hunters

***

The Egg Hunters.

***

myra easter

***

My cousin, Myra, the taste-tester.

***

rick elias

***

Elias and Uncle Rick.

***

riz easter

***

My sister, Riza, really UPSET that I took this picture WHILE she was eating. (I had to do it!)

***

zara elsy - easter

***

Secret Easter Bunnies (me and my husband, my favourite sidekick!).

***

(c) Zar Deenas. All rights reserved.
(c) Photo by Zar Deenas. All rights reserved.

***

The Easter Gang.

***

Hope you and yours had a special Easter celebration!

***

What did your Easter celebration look like?

Did you attend a special Christian service in celebration of today?

Did your children enjoy an Easter egg hunt?

In light of Jesus’ resurrection, what are you most grateful for today?

If you don’t celebrate Easter, what are you most looking forward to this spring?

***

zara alexis blog signature

4 thoughts on “Easter: The Kids Go on an Egg Hunt!”

  1. Wow everything looks so yummy and creative!Thanks for sharing pictures of the cute children.Seems everyone had fun.Thanks be to the Lord for all his blessings.

  2. We had a quiet day, just my husband and I, but it was nice! Your day looks like a lot of fun (and a lot of work for you!). I’m glad you got to sit down for at least long enough to have your picture taken!

    1. Thanks Laurie. It was a surprise. We don’t usually do an Easter egg hunt for the kids, but now that they’re a little bigger we decided to give it a try. Lunch was great. Glad you had a quiet day. They’re just as wonderful!

Leave a Reply

