Nail Polish Lottery Club: Week 8

nail polish - avatar

Nail Polish Lottery Club

Week 8

03.07.2013

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez /@ZaraAlexis

The Nail Polish Lottery Club creates a fun way in which to go through your unused/untried nail polish by selecting a random number each week on Mondays at 8:00 p.m. Based on members’ spreadsheet/database lists, whatever number corresponds on the list with the random number chosen, is the colour to try, wear, and post or v-blog about!

Would you like to join the club? Are you a nail polish hoarder? A secret nail painter? Do those colourful bottles just take your breath (and your budget) away every time you visit the beauty section of a store? Or would you like to just paint your nails from time to time and aren’t sure which polish to choose? Then this place is for you! (And Lindsay…and me…and oh, I don’t know how many others!).

For more details, check out the Nail Polish Lottery Guidelines here.

***

And now to the fun stuff!

This week’s random number is 7

***

Number 7 on my nail polish spreadsheet listed is:

Revlon #731

Knockout

nail polish - revlon knockout

***

name - revlon knockout

***

What attracted me most to this colour wasn’t only its dark hue, but that it’s not a purely black colour. It’s actually a deep, dark navy blue-black, which you can see in different angles of light. From afar, it’s a striking creme black with enough shine to get that polished look.

While it’s not a look I’d wear on a daily basis, I’d enjoy wearing this to complement or create  a more edgy look. While “goth” may be the first thing to come to mind, I can see myself wearing this with more sleek and chic styling: flowing, black slacks with a beige, white, or grey, cashmere sweater, and chunky silver jewellery.

The colour was achieved in only two, clean coats. No streaks or chips. And it lasted for more than a few days. Top it with a great top coat and you’re set. I didn’t do that and it was still fine. A great addition to my nail polish collection!

nails - revlon knockout

***

nails2 - revlon knockout

***

But, just because I love nails, don’t think I’ve forgotten about my first love — books!

To integrate both loves, I’ve decided to also include with my nail lottery posts, a book cover(s) that I own in my library that I think complements or can be said to inspire the nail polish colour of choice or its art.

***

book1 - revlon knockout

***

Small Change by Elizabeth Hay

***

book2 - revlon knockout

***

The Cave by Jose Saramago

***

book3 - revlon knockout

***

The Bitter Taste of Time by Bea Gonzalez

***

book4 - revlon knockout

***

The Tiger’s Wife by Tea Obreht

***

book5 - revlon knockout

***

Bed Bugs by Ben H. Winters

***

book6 - revlon knockout

***

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

***

What do you think of the nail polish, Revlon #731: Knockout?

What’s the darkest colour of nail polish you’ve ever worn?

Do you prefer light colours over dark ones? Or the other way around? Why?

What nail polish are you wearing now?

***

zara alexis blog signature

3 thoughts on “Nail Polish Lottery Club: Week 8”

    1. Excellent! You should definitely join the NPLClub! What are you wearing today? I just put on Essie’s “Clutch Me If You Can,” but I might just take it off to try my new Sephora polish, “Studs & Stilettos!” 😀

Leave a Reply

