Nail Polish Lottery Club: Week 6

nail polish - avatar

Nail Polish Lottery Club

Week 6

02.18.2013

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez / @ZaraAlexis

The Nail Polish Lottery Club creates a fun way in which to go through your unused/untried nail polish by selecting a random number each week on Mondays at 8:00 p.m. Based on members’ spreadsheet/database lists, whatever number corresponds on the list with the random number chosen, is the colour to try, wear, and post or v-blog about!

Would you like to join the club? Are you a nail polish hoarder? A secret nail painter? Do those colourful bottles just take your breath (and your budget) away every time you visit the beauty section of a store? Or would you like to just paint your nails from time to time and aren’t sure which polish to choose? Then this place is for you! (And Lindsay…and me…and oh, I don’t know how many others!).

For more details, check out the Nail Polish Lottery Guidelines here.

***

And now to the fun stuff!

This week’s random number is 41

***

Number 41 on my nail polish spreadsheet listed is:

China Glaze #935

Ingrid

polish - china glaze ingrid

***

This past Valentine’s Day, my husband splurged on what he understands to be my latest craze: nail polish. I love that he knows me so well. Why spend $50 on something that’s expected, but not necessarily something I really want like lingerie or perfume? He wooed me again with a fluffy, lamb plush toy and bottles of China Glaze nail polish! Did I have a happy Valentine’s Day? You betcha!

And lucky me, whenever I update my spreadsheet and scramble the list, I usually end up trying a polish that I love! (Then again, I’m so nuts about nail polish right now, that I don’t seem to get too disappointed with the bottles I do end up trying.)

I’ve never had the privilege of trying the China Glaze brand, but the moment I put this one on, all the hype associated with it was confirmed. The paint went on so smoothly, I knew right away that the investment of paying a little bit more per bottle is absolutely worth it.

The density of the paint was thin and perfect, not thick and clumpy the way cheaper brands are. And the colour of the bottle was achieved very easily with only two clean coats. And when I say, “clean,” I mean, clean. Either I’m becoming an expert in painting my nails well, or China Glaze is a miracle brand! Because when I usually paint my nails with the cheaper products, the paint spills and bleeds into my cuticles and leaves me with a clean-up job that requires precision and patience — plus staining. With China Glaze, two easy strokes on each nail bed and I was done. No mess, no clean-up, no irritating cuticle stains.

I was even more impressed with this because I actually painted my nails while sitting at a Starbucks cafe enjoying a cup of coffee with my husband, who was worried that I’d make a muck of things and would require a bottle of nail polish remover on each hand! But, it wasn’t necessary. It was a clean paint job and my nails and I were ecstatic!

The colour, Ingrid, too, is a wonderfully neutral colour without being a “wallflower.” It’s a darker shade of taupe with specks and glint of gold. I absolutely love this colour with my skin tone. Its shine is pretty enough to be noticeable without glaring into an overdrive of gloss.

I can now brag that, yes, China Glaze, is indeed one of my favourite nail polish brands and the colour #935, Ingrid, is one of my favourite shades. I suspect this bottle will need to be replenished time and time again!

nails - china glaze ingrid

***

If you haven’t yet invested in China Glaze, I urge you to take the plunge. For a couple of dollars more, you certainly won’t be disappointed. The saying, “You get what you pay for,” is absolutely true in this case. I only regret that I didn’t invest in China Glaze sooner. And thank goodness my husband was wise enough to purchase this gorgeous bottle for me! (It even matches the colour of my lamb plush toy!)

One of my Valentine's Day gifts from my hubby (2013): a lamb plush toy.
One of my Valentine’s Day gifts from my hubby (2013): a lamb plush toy.

***

But, just because I love nails, don’t think I’ve forgotten about my first love — books!

To integrate both loves, I’ve decided to also include with my nail lottery posts, a book cover(s) that I own in my library that I think complements or can be said to inspire the nail polish colour of choice or its art.

***

Here’s what I found to complement, China Glaze #935, Ingrid:

book1 - china glaze ingrid

***

Moving Targets: Writing with Intent by Margaret Atwood

***

book2 - china glaze ingrid

***

Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare

***

book3 - china glaze ingrid

***

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

***

What do you think of the nail polish brand, China Glaze?

What do you think of the colour, “Ingrid?” Would you wear it? Why or why not?

In your experience, does paying the higher price for a bottle of nail polish make a difference? Or are specific brands simply overrated?

Have you read its corresponding books listed on this blog? 

Are you a part of the Nail Lottery Club? 

What nail polish brand and colour are you wearing now?

***

zara alexis blog signature

3 thoughts on “Nail Polish Lottery Club: Week 6”

  1. Did you name your lamb yet?If not,I suggest Lambchop!I gave away a couple of China Glaze brown colours a few years ago that look a lot like this one.I wish I had them back!At the time I thought they looked too much like P**p !Now I am really into browns.China Glaze is really a great brand,but like any brand they can run and pool in the cuticles.It is a pleasure to work with a polish that goes on that well,and some drugstore polishes can work fine,too.My top two brands are Revlon and OPI.At the moment I am wearing Chanel Quartz.

    1. I haven’t personally named my lamb plush toy yet, but my three-year-old daughter seems to like calling it, “Lemon” because she pronounces “lamb” as “lemm.” So far, it has stuck! I hear a lot of complaints about the colour brown in nail polish looking like p**p, but with my particular skin tone, the brown hues actually compliment me, so I’ve never had a problem. Do you really have the experience of the paint pooling into cuticles with China Glaze. I haven’t, which is why I love this particular brand! O.P.I. is great, but I only have a few bottles. I haven’t quite braved the expense. I’m trying to save my nail polish budget so I can covet a Butter London bottle at $17 a pop! LOL Revlon is pretty good, though maybe I tend to collect, too, based on what the bottles “look” like and Revlon doesn’t really do it for me. I just picked up a “Star Attraction” bottle — the one with the magnetized feature. I’ll let you know how that works out. Chanel Quartz? That certainly sounds gorgeous! Until we chat again, happy painting, Linda — and thanks for dropping by! 😀

      1. Lemon is a better,more original name!I am always drawn to the colour of a polish,so the rather basic bottle Revlon uses doesn’t bother me.I have looked at Butter London polishes and been tempted,but have not purchased any yet.I have heard that their formulas can be hit or miss.I may buy a Revlon Star Attraction polish,they are on clearance at my local drugstore.Looking forward to your post on that.I have too many polishes,so I must stop!

Leave a Reply

