Nail Polish Lottery Club. Week: 5

nail polish - avatar

Nail Polish Lottery Club

Week 5

02.07.2013

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez / @ZaraAlexis

The Nail Polish Lottery Club creates a fun way in which to go through your unused/untried nail polish by selecting a random number each week on Mondays at 8:00 p.m. Based on members’ spreadsheet/database lists, whatever number corresponds on the list with the random number chosen, is the colour to try, wear, and post or v-blog about!

Would you like to join the club? Are you a nail polish hoarder? A secret nail painter? Do those colourful bottles just take your breath (and your budget) away every time you visit the beauty section of a store? Or would you like to just paint your nails from time to time and aren’t sure which polish to choose? Then this place is for you! (And Lindsay…and me…and oh, I don’t know how many others!).

For more details, check out the Nail Polish Lottery Guidelines here.

***

And now to the fun stuff!

This week’s random number is 6

***

Number 6 on my nail polish spreadsheet listed is:

Klean Color #25

Beach Blue

polish - klean color beach blue

***

I’ve been recently obsessed with collecting nail polish, but in particular, the Klean Color brand. I just love the aesthetic of the bottle and the variety of colours in its line, which includes both cream and glittery polishes. I currently own a total of 25 nail polishes of the Klean Color brand itself and I always look forward to adding more!

Klean Color #25: Beach Blue is a bright baby blue colour that certainly pops! It took a standard two coats for the colour to turn opaque and while the colour itself shocked me since bold, bright colours aren’t my nail polish style to begin with; after wearing it a little longer, I didn’t really mind. While the Klean Color brand varies in its cream and shine depending on the colour you choose to wear, if you like high gloss nails, I’d suggest adding a shiny top coat. The brand itself is called Klean Color after all, which by its line you can see emphasizes variety of colour, not quality.

 It’s certainly an attention-grabber and in my opinion, most fun paired with comfy, straight-leg jeans and flip-flops! It’s not named Beach Blue for nothing. And a colour I think any nail fashionista would love to flash in the summer time.

nails - klean color beach blue (2)

***

But, just because I love nails, don’t think I’ve forgotten about my first love — books!

To integrate both loves, I’ve decided to also include with my nail lottery posts, a book cover(s) that I own in my library that I think complements or can be said to inspire the nail polish colour of choice or its art.

***

Here’s what I found to complement, Klean Color #26, Beach Blue:

 book 1 - klean color beach blue

***

Little Princes by Conor Grennan

***

book 2 - klean color beach blue

***

The Assassin’s Song by M. G. Vassanji

***

What do you think of the nail polish colour, “Beach Blue?” Would you wear it? Why or why not?

Have you read its corresponding books listed on this blog? 

Are you a part of the Nail Lottery Club? 

***

zara alexis blog signature

One thought on “Nail Polish Lottery Club. Week: 5”

Leave a Reply

