Nail Polish Lottery Club: Week 4

nail polish - avatar

Nail Polish Lottery Club

Week: 4

01.29.2013

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez / @ZaraAlexis

The Nail Polish Lottery Club creates a fun way in which to go through your unused/untried nail polish by selecting a random number each week on Mondays at 8:00 p.m. Based on members’ spreadsheet/database lists, whatever number corresponds on the list with the random number chosen, is the colour to try, wear, and post or v-blog about!

Would you like to join the club? Are you a nail polish hoarder? A secret nail painter? Do those colourful bottles just take your breath (and your budget) away every time you visit the beauty section of a store? Or would you like to just paint your nails from time to time and aren’t sure which polish to choose? Then this place is for you! (And Lindsay…and me…and oh, I don’t know how many others!).

For more details, check out the Nail Polish Lottery Guidelines here.

***

And now to the fun stuff!

This week’s random number is 48!

If you don’t have 48 nail polishes on your list use 4+8=12 and if you don’t have 12 use 1+2=3.

***

Number 48 on my nail polish spreadsheet list is:

NYC In a Minute #228B:

Chelsea

nail polish - NYC chelsea

***

The NYC (New York Color) nail polish brand is a wonderfully affordable nail polish. For less than $2.00, a nail polish addict can purchase one for a quick fix—or many at one time to simply try on different colours with his/her skin tone.

The price of NYC In a Minute is probably its best asset. You know what they say, “You get what you pay for,” and in this case, it’s usually true.

The colour is a great hue of red. It’s a true red, not orange in tone, nor burgundy, and is a great pick-up during the winter months! (Heck, red is a great colour to wear on nails and lips, in my opinion, any time!). It also has a microscopic hint of gold flecks in its palette, which makes for some added value in shine, but not much.

And even though I did put on some base coat before my first application, by the time the polish dried, it still showed some streaks. And because of the name of its line, “In a Minute,” it does dry fairly quickly, but how long it’ll last, I’m not quite sure. I suspect that I’ll see some chips tomorrow. I hope not, but I suspect this might happen especially considering the price per bottle.

Still, for the novice nail polish collector, NYC In a Minute is still a fine alternative simply to “try” different shades on without worrying about busting your budget.

***

nails - NYC chelsea

***

But, just because I love nails, don’t think I’ve forgotten about my first love — books!

To integrate both loves, I’ve decided to also include with my nail lottery posts, a book cover(s) that I own in my library that I think complements or can be said to inspire the nail polish colour of choice or its art.

***

Here’s what I found to complement, NYC In a Minute #228B, Chelsea:

peony in love - chelsea

***

Peony in Love by Lisa See

***

melancholy of whores - chelsea

***

Memories of My Melancholy Whores by Gabriel Garcia-Marquez

***

Do you own any of the brand, NYC In a Minute, nail polishes? If so, what do you think about the brand?

What do you think of the nail polish colour, “Chelsea?” Would you wear it? Why or why not?

Have you read its corresponding books listed on this blog? 

Are you a part of the Nail Lottery Club? 

***

zara alexis blog signature

3 thoughts on “Nail Polish Lottery Club: Week 4”

    1. Red is always a great pick-up! I can’t wait until Monday for the next Nail Polish Lottery pick! (Not that I’m not trying nail polish on my own anyway! LOL). Thanks for always visiting.

Leave a Reply

