Nail Polish Lottery Club: Week 2

nail polish - avatar

Nail Polish Lottery Club

Week 2

01.17.2013

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez / @ZaraAlexis

It seems my secret fetish with nail polish is out. Thanks to my “personality-twin-blogger-friend” (who also happened to grow up in Brampton as a kid, hence our affectionate nickname for each other: Best-Friends-Forever-from-Brampton [BFFFB]!)—Lindsay—who is both a book reviewer and nail polish guru! Don’t believe me? Her blog, Turning the Pages, originally only a book blog, happily became a hybrid of book and nail content just this past year.

And because I not only consider her a blogger friend, I also happen to subscribe to and follow her blog, which means I’ve recently caught the nail polish fever.

As a novice nail painter, my original collection started with approximately 50 nail polishes. In a week’s time, my collection has glittered to a luscious 80 bottle count! Yup, I’ve lost my acetone!

And because of this new-found inspiration that I credit completely to my BFFFB, Lindsay, who also happened to steer me towards the Nail Polish Lottery Club online, a community of hardcore, nail polish lovers, I’ve decided to incorporate a post per week (for now) about nails, which I’m calling, “Cute”-icles of a Bibliotaphe.

For now, I’ll be joining the Nail Polish Lottery Club in showcasing nail polish colours that I haven’t yet had the chance to try based on its random number drawing every week. I just completed a database for this very purpose and realize, I’m really starting from scratch!

The Nail Polish Lottery Club creates a fun way in which to go through your unused/untried nail polish by selecting a random number each week on Mondays at 8:00 p.m. Based on members’ spreadsheet/database lists, whatever number corresponds on the list with the random number chosen, is the colour to try, wear, and post or v-blog about!

Would you like to join the club? Are you a nail polish hoarder? A secret nail painter? Do those colourful bottles just take your breath (and your budget) away every time you visit the beauty section of a store? Or would you like to just paint your nails from time to time and aren’t sure which polish to choose? Then this place is for you! (And Lindsay…and me…and oh, I don’t know how many others!).

For more details, check out the Nail Polish Lottery Guidelines here.

***

And now to the fun stuff!

This week’s random number is 187!

If you don’t have 187 nail polishes then use 1+8+7=16 and if you don’t have 16 use 1+6=7.

***

Number 16 on my nail polish spreadsheet listed:

Klean Color Nail Laquer #105

Military Green

bottle - military green

***

And while I thought I’d never wear any type of green nail polish whatsoever in my lifetime, after I actually tried this shade on, it turned out a lot better than I had expected. It’s like wearing a wonderful, dark green scarf around my neck (which I do and which I have!).

nails - military green

***

nails2 - military green

***

But, just because I love nails, don’t think I’ve forgotten about my first love — books!

To integrate both loves, I’ve decided to also include with my nail lottery posts, a book cover(s) that I own in my library that I think complements or can be said to inspire the nail polish colour of choice or its art.

***

Here’s what I found to complement, Klean Color’s #105, Military Green:

book - military green

The Uninvited Guests by Sadie Jones, published by Alfred A. Knopf Canada.

***

Do you own any of the brand, Klean Color, nail polishes? If so, what do you think about the brand?

What do you think of the nail polish colour, “Military Green?” Would you wear it? Why or why not?

Have you read its corresponding book (cover), The Uninvited Guests by Sadie Jones?

Are you a part of the Nail Lottery Club? 

***

zara alexis blog signature

4 thoughts on “Nail Polish Lottery Club: Week 2”

  1. BFFFB!! What an awesome post and I am so happy that you are part of the Nail Polish Lottery Club too! I always knew that we would be great friends!! I have been coveting some Kleancolor polish… Where do you find it? That green totally suits your skintone. As for the book… It on my shelf and still in the TBR pile :). Thanks for the shoutout girl! Loves ya!

    1. BFFB! You see what you git me into? LOL!! I can’t believe we both love nail polish, too! (Hey, do love lipstick as well, because then I’ll just faint!) Thanks SO much for introducing me to the Nail Polish Club—what a fun way to try on different nail polishes. I always buy them, but then sometimes they just sit there forever because I’m not in a particular mood to put that colour on and will stick instead with a close favourite. And then I NEVER end up trying the polish at all. So, really you and the NPLC is a God-send! The Military Green surprised me. I really like dark colours anyway, so I got lucky this time. Oh, can’t wait until next week’s pick!! As for Klean Color, I found mine at Bramalea City Centre at one of the cosmetic stores, which of course I forgot the name of…will check and get back to you on that. I love the bottles!

      Loves ya, too, BFFFB! 😀

  2. Hi! I’m so glad you joined the club! Beautiful polish – lucky week for you! Green is my favorite btw. And what a good idea to include a book in this 🙂

    1. Thanks Diana! The Nail Polish Club is a great motivator. I wasn’t sure about green, but now I really like it! Go, Nail Polish Lottery Club!! Thanks for stopping by and for following. Can’t wait until Monday! Happy nail painting. 😀

Leave a Reply

