Best Books of 2012 from The Bibliotaphe Closet

I am a book nerd avatar

Best Books of 2012 from The Bibliotaphe Closet

12.31.2012

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez / @ZaraAlexis

 The wonderful thing about the end of a year is the ability to look back in retrospect. In a year, I was able to read, rate, and review a total of 45 books, primarily literary fiction, on my blog, The Bibliotaphe Closet. Of the 45 titles, here are my top 15 choices of the books I’ve read in 2012 (not necessarily books that were published in 2012):

1. The Glass Boys by Nicole Lundrigan

glass boys cvr

2. I Am Forbidden by Anouk Markovits

i am forbidden

3. The Dovekeepers by Alice Hoffman

the dovekeepers3

4. Alone in the Classroom by Elizabeth Hay

alone in the classroom bk cvr

5. This Will Be Difficult to Explain and Other Stories by Johanna Skibsrud

this will be difficult to explain

6. The Deleted World by Tomas Transtromer

the deleted world

7. The Red House by Mark Haddon

the red house book cvr

8. Half-Blood Blues by Esi Edugyan

half-blood blues cvr

9. The Rest Is Silence by Scott Fotheringham

the rest is silence book cvr

10. The Bellwether Revivals by Benjamin Wood

bellwether revivals cvr

11. The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce

the unlikely pilgrimage of harold fry

12. Inside by Alix Ohlin

inside

13. Born Weird by Andrew Kaufman

born weird

14. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

night circus

15. Monsieur by Emma Becker

monsieur

***

It’ll be interesting to discover which books I will read, review, and most enjoy in the year 2013.

Goodbye 2012…The Bibliotaphe Closet was filled with many new releases that have enriched my reading experience and hopefully have enriched yours.

I’m looking forward to reading a whole new batch for 2013!

What will be the first book you choose to read in the New Year?

***

zara alexis blog signature

2 thoughts on “Best Books of 2012 from The Bibliotaphe Closet”

  1. A very nice list of books! The only ones I’ve read are The Night Circus and The Red House. I definitely want to read The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Frye and several of the others. Other than books I’m committed to read for review, I’m hoping to read Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore early in the new year. (I was hoping to get it for Christmas, but am now waiting for it to come in for me at the library!)

Leave a Reply

