A Home-Baked, Classic, Christmas Favourite!

zara wallpaper avatar

A Home-Baked, Classic, Christmas Favourite!

12.14.2012

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez / @ZaraAlexis

Sorry for my absence. I do my best to post on a daily basis with exception to the weekends, but I couldn’t make it to the computer yesterday or even earlier today on account that my son has been home from school with a fever, nausea, and vomiting.

As a mom, I tend to worry especially when my children get sick. While other people may practice mantras, meditation, or therapy in answer to their stress, I, on the other hand do something entirely different—I bake.

So, yesterday (all day…) I hid myself in the kitchen and baked (and baked and baked…). Yes, of course, I tended to my son, but I also tended to the dough on my counter.

By the time I was finished, I had enough baked goods for an entire community (or at least everyone on my block)!

Want to get something meaningful for your neighbours and friends, but don’t want to necessarily blow your budget? Creating a DIY or home-baked project adds a touch of thoughtfulness that you can’t replicate  from your local, big-boxed store.

This Christmas, aside from the presents I’ve already bought for my family and friends, I also decided to make a little something for my neighbours, the Stay-at-Home-Moms-and-Dads I know and run into on the way to my son’s school, my daughter’s ECE instructors, my mail lady, my doctor, dentist, and anyone in my community who has been kind enough to brighten my day in one way or another over the past year!

This year, I decided to bake and bundle a classic, Christmas favourite—some shortbread cookies!

shortbread batter
Shortbread batter

***

Shortbread Cookie Recipe

Ingredients:

1 cup butter, softened
1/4 cup cornstarch
1/2 cup icing sugar
1 ½ cups flour
¾ tsp. vanilla

Sprinkles (optional)

Instructions:

1. Cream butter well.

2. Add corn starch and icing sugar a little at a time.

3. Add flour a 1/2 cup at a time and mix until the dough looks like whipped cream.

4. Roll dough into shapes (optional) on cookie sheet lined with parchment paper, top with sprinkles.

5. Bake in preheated 350F oven until golden for approximately 12 minutes.

Yields: 5-6 dozen

***

shortbread cookies in the oven
Shortbread cookies baking in the oven.

***

After I finished baking these light, soft treats, I let them cool for about five minutes and then wrapped a bundle in red cellophane, tied each bundle with ribbon, and my homemade gift tags.

for wrapping
The items I used for wrapping the cookies in.

***

Wrapped bundles
Wrapped bundles

***

The finished product!
The finished product!

***

These little bundles of home-baked shortbread cookies are a “sweet” giveaway and drop-off item in someone’s mailbox!

***

What’s your favourite home-baked treat for Christmas?

Be sure to leave a comment with a link to a favourite, tasty recipe! I’d love new ideas for next year!

***

zara alexis blog signature

4 thoughts on “A Home-Baked, Classic, Christmas Favourite!”

  1. Mmm looks yummy. This isn’t the first time I have wished I was your neighbour! (I think I might raid your bookshelves first though!)

    I too am a shortbread fan, but my sweet is less traditional. I love BHG’s White Chocolate Cherry Shortbread. So good!

    I make a whole bunch of cookies on the weekend before Christmas (since we have work/school on Christmas Day) and then bring a bunch for coworkers and teachers. To apologize in advance for all the problems I’ll cause next year! Also because Christmas at work is depressing, it really cheers me up to do something nice for others.

    1. Oh, I think I’d LOVE to be YOUR neighbour! Not only do I love Japan, but your cookie recipe sounds absolutely delicious! Good luck on the last stretch before Christmas! 😀

Leave a Reply

