Writing Wednesday: NaNoWriMo. No, It’s Not a Weird Animal

Writing Wednesday:

NaNoWriMo. No, It’s Not a Weird Animal

11.07.2012

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez / @ZaraAlexis

NaNoWriMo. Rhymes with Rhino. Or Wyno. But, no, it’s not a weird animal.

***

***

For you writer buffs, it’s the short form (and short month) of National November Writing Month. Et, voila! It’s November. Again.

Do you have your pencils out? Sharpened at least? Paper? Got that, right? A dream to be an aspiring writer? So, here’s your chance to live it out (and type it out) in exactly one month. That’s right.

The goal of joinging NaNoWriMo is to write 50,000 words (not characters, both in a literal and metaphorical sense) of a novel in the month of November.

Why November? I’m not sure. Maybe it’s the weather. We’ll all most likely be snowed in anyway, so why not write the novel you’ve been putting off? I tried last year. Yup. Active word here: tried. So, I didn’t make the 50,ooo word count, but I made…uh…oh, I don’t know…a few pages…of something. And no, it wasn’t origami.

Maybe it’s in November because we can all treat ourselves to eggnog, mistletoe, and lavish gifts once the month is over. I don’t know. All I know is that I’m already a week late, which means I’ve got to bang on my keyboard a little more and a little faster than last year.

Yikes!—What the heck am I doing here blogging, then?

Yes, well…unfortunately, my blog posts must still continue during this NaNoWriMo madness, but it sure feels giddy being part of a global writing marathon. And if you know me, I’m into marathons. Slow and steady win the race. But in this case, you and I will need to step it up a bit. 50,000 words is a long way to go in 30 days (well, in my case, 23 days…)

So, come out of your writing cave to sign up for this month-long event—and then go back into your cave—to write. You heard it from me. The expert. (Hahahahahahaha!) Ahem. Okay, I’m no expert, but I was a participant last year. That’s gotta count for something. A preface, maybe.

So, get those pencils and pens out. Brainstorm some ideas on a white eraser board. Bang, bang, bang on that keyboard. And plot. And scheme. And don’t forget to use Spellcheck.

Otherwise, make a papermache creation of what you think a NaNoWriMo might look like as an animal. Either way, you’re bound to have some fun.

(And when I say “fun,” I mean coffee-slurping, eye-watering, hair-pulling, evil-laughing, insomniac fun!)

To sign up, check out this NaNoWriMo link.

Let the novels begin!

***

Have you ever participated in NaNoWriMo before?

What’s your favourite part of the experience?

Were you able to write 50,000 words towards your novel or not?

What ways do you think could help you complete this goal for 2012?

What’s the highest word count you have ever reached towards your novel?

***

6 thoughts on “Writing Wednesday: NaNoWriMo. No, It’s Not a Weird Animal”

Leave a Reply

