The Bibliotaphe Closet Is Being Cleaned!

The Bibliotaphe Closet Is Being Cleaned!

Bloggiesta Recap and New Blogging Schedule

09.30.2012

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez / @ZaraAlexis

It seems it takes a lot more than salsa dancing and nacho-munching to successfully complete the Bloggiesta event. I know, and I’m a pretty good dancer. I’ve been MIA for most of the weekend.

While no posts have come live for today with exception to this one, I’ve been hacking away at my keyboard, redesigning, re-thinking, re-organizing–and while it’s gone unnoticed, I have come to a conclusion:

Bloggiesta is not a three-day event, but a long-term project!—And no, I’m not done yet.

But here’s what I have done so far:

  • I’ve renamed my blog from “The Bibliotaphe’s Closet” to “The Bibliotaphe Closet.”
  • I’ve changed my WordPress theme from Coraline to Quintus.
  • I created a new blog button. Bye-bye geisha, hello librarian!
  • I’m still working on streamlining the review format on all my past reviews.
  • I’ve deleted unnecessary buttons from my sidebar.
  • I created my own media icon buttons with links! (I just learned how to do this and I’m really happy with the results!)
  • I’ve been re-thinking and planning a new blogging schedule.

And in this process, I’ve also come to the realization that I require one day off a week from posting on my blog not only for the sake of my sanity, freedom, and well, family time—I also need to do the laundry.

While my blog has seemed to flourish, my house has…well…become a pit of unsanitary neglect. And what better day to rest from blogging than a Sunday? If God rested at least one day in creating the universe, I think I’m entitled to at least a day from blogging, yes?

And you may not know this about me, but I’m not only obsessed with books, I’m also addicted to movies. I’ve been watching movies since the time of Beta. And so, I’ve also decided to include more movie reviews on my blog.

Here’s a rough outline of what my blogging schedule could look like in the near future. Any or all of these can and/or will be posted:

Mondays

Stuffing the Bibliotaphe Closet: 

Much like the book memes: In My Mailbox, Stacking the Shelves, Book Haul, and Showcase Sunday, I’ve decided to rename my meme to Stuffing the Bibliotaphe Closet, which will outline books that I’ve received for review from publishers and/or authors, books that I’ve bought in the past week, and prizes that I’ve won.

Monday Movie Review:

I’ve decided to incorporate movie reviews on my blog, which will include classics, older movies, new releases, and upcoming titles including any and/or all genres (with maybe an exception to horror films—because I really prefer to avoid watching those.)

Tuesdays

Top Ten Tuesday:

This meme is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish blog, which presents thematic top ten lists for bloggers to participate in and link to.

Teaser Tuesday:

This meme is hosted by the Should Be Reading blog, which allows bloggers to choose a random page from a current read and post it online to give readers a taste of that particular book and what is being read in the blogging community.

Wednesdays

Writing Wednesday:

This post can be about anything regarding writing: writing tips, writing exercises, writing workshops, writing events, and maybe even some of my own personal work from my writing portfolio.

Thursdays

Book Reviews:

I will reserve this day for my book reviews as I complete my reading.

Techie Thursday:

I’ll post techie tips, tricks, advice, how-to’s, or recommendations on effective applications that bloggers may find useful.

Fridays

Freebie Friday:

If I’m alerted to free e-books or cool giveaway contests that my readers can enter, I’ll post it here.

Feature Friday:

I love advocating literacy and so I  think it’s important to be able to feature bloggers, authors, publishers, book charities, literacy programs, and book events, which is what Feature Friday will be all about.

Saturdays

Saturday Snapshot:

This meme is hosted by At Home with Books blog and I’ve been participating in it for a while now. It’ll be a quick photo to share with my readers that will hopefully give a little more insight on my personal aesthetic and my photography as a hobby.

Sundays

No posts. I’ll be reserving this day for house chores and more time for reading!

***

What types of posts would you like me to post about here at The Bibliotaphe Closet?

***

4 thoughts on “The Bibliotaphe Closet Is Being Cleaned!”

  1. Wow! It looks nice! Your posting schedule still seems incredibly ambitious to me, even with a day off built in. Looking forward to seeing what you do with all your different topics.

    1. I don’t think I’ll be posting every topic for each day, but at least I have some focus on what to post about, I think. I always have trouble trying to figure out what I should post about. These actually give me a framework to start from. Ambitious? Yeah…looking at it makes me a little tired now, too. Good point. I have no idea how other bloggers keep the stamina to post each and every day! Thanks for your input as always! – Z 😀

Leave a Reply

