Stacking the Shelves. 09.09.2012

Stacking the Shelves

09.09.2012

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez / @ZaraAlexis

My husband continues to beg the question, “Why are you buying more books?!?” At which point, I coyly ignore him and take my secret purchases to the front counter.

This is my plight—and well—my joy. How did you stack your shelves this week?

Here’s a synopsis of wonderful additions to my collection:

Books for Review:

The Magic of Saida by M.G. Vassanji, published by Doubleday Canada, September 25, 2012.

The Selector of Souls by Shauna Singh Baldwin, published by Knopf Canada, September 25, 2012.

***

A special thank you to Random House of Canada for sending me these two new releases! You really must see The Selector of Souls cover—it literally SHINES! It’s almost TOO gorgeous to read!

***

Books I Bought:

***

Six Suspects by Vikas Swarup

The Love of a Good Woman by Alice Munro

***

***

Just Listen by Sarah Dessen

The Tenth Circle by Jodi Picoult

***

***

Guenevere, Queen of the Summer Country by Rosalind Miles

Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier

***

***

Edith Wharton by Hermione Lee

***

Books and Prizes I Won:

***

The Truth by Michael Palin

A special thanks to Orion Publishing Group for sending me this copy from their Twitter contest!

***

***

Contingency Plan by Lou Allin

Thank you to Orca Book Publishers on behalf of Library Thing for my win of this ARC!

***

***

Iron King by Julie Kagawa

A special thanks to Jessica from Wickedly Bookish for my choice of prize under $10.00 from The Book Depository! I won the Summer Wrap-Up Readathon Summer Cover Challenge and I chose the first book in the Iron Fey series by Julie Kagawa!!

***

***

And SWAG from Hannah from In the Best Worlds blog in celebration of her birthday on August 16 through her Twitter contest! One of the bookmarks is even signed!! YES!! Thanks Hannah and I hope you had an awesome birthday! I love the SWAG!

***

How did you do this week?

Is your partner exasperated with you, too, in buying too many books?

***

2 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves. 09.09.2012”

  1. So many books! You’re so lucky. I haven’t read any of those books, but I really want to read The Iron Fey series. And Just Listen and The Tenth Circle. Also Rebecca.
    I don’t buy many books (I usually borrow them from library), but my parents still think it’s too much. I don’t think it’s possible to explain love for books to people who aren’t really into reading.

    1. I, too, am working on collecting the Iron Fey series. I ran into a fellow blogger at a book aisle and she recommended Julie Kagawa to me. Aside from that, I love the idea of fae!

      As for your spending habits, good for you. Once you have a more secure budget, I’m positive you’ll be able to build your own wonderful collection!

      In the meantime, keep enjoying your books. You’re right about avid readers being the only ones who understand this affliction. Thanks so much for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

