Stacking the Shelves. 09.02.2012

Stacking the Shelves

09.02.2012

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez / @ZaraAlexis

It’s been a lucky week for me! More winnings and more books! (My husband gives me the evil eye as I sit here typing this post…). Actually, I’m not sure how many more books I should buy considering my house is already bursting at the seams with books.

And my TBR pile! It’s comparable to the Wall of China. I’d show you, but I’m embarrassed about it. I’ve even tried read-a-thons, but what I think I really need is a reading sabbatical!

I might really need to consider getting an e-reader—yet, I’m not so sure how I feel about it yet. As it is, just thinking of getting rid of my print copies…well…it makes me a little nauseous, faint-like, and—well, bluntly put—sick. How will I ever be able to part with my beautiful trade paperbacks? My hardcovers? The gorgeous cover designs? Not to mention the books that were signed by authors! How? How? How?

So, in answer to that painful thought, one of my favourite publishers in the whole book publishing world sent me two books for review! Alleluia!

And I bought a few more…

And my mailbox was just as excited as I was to receive a prize package from Krista Holle!

Oh yeah, this Bibliotaphe’s Closet is getting jammed up with books—and I’m LOVING it!

Here’s my book haul for this week:

Books for Review from Publishers:

***

Did anyone notice the theme…and my overall, inevitable, emotional response?

If you guessed, SWEET, then you’re a smart cookie!

I can’t wait to read these books that were generously sent to me by McClelland & Stewart and Random House of Canada! Thank you, thank you, thank you!

Sweet Jesus by Christine Pountney

The Sweet Girl by Annbel Lyon

 ***

Books I Bought:

***

I’ve already read these two books and own the first one in trade paperback, but when I saw the hardcover I thought, “Two is better than one…and I can give my trade paperback copy away!” See? I can let go of my books! (Chuckle.)

And the second book, I actually received a portion of it a long time ago at the Book Expo where I was able to meet Nino Ricci himself (who also went to York University, by the way!), which made it worth it…even if it only was a portion of the book. Now, I have the entire copy! Yay for patience and a strong, responsible book budget!!

I recommend these titles. They’re excellent reads!

A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini

The Origin of Species by Nino Ricci

***

***

And let us not forget that I’m not entirely a literary fiction snob. No, no, no. I love my Young Adult fiction, too! The covers. The romance. The paranormal. It makes me just want to howl, fly, bite, and resurrect all at the same time! I’ll be the first to admit that I love cover designs and fall prey to them almost every time. (You publishers and marketing people are just too smart to let us get away without falling in love with book covers!)

So, to add a little dark romance to my collection, I also bought:

The Postmistress by Sarah Blake

Torment by Lauren Kate

***

And now to thank my lucky stars…

These are the books I won!

 

***

I was very pleased to learn that I won the grand prize of a Lure of Shapinsay signed book, T-shirt, stickers, and bookmark! Yowsers! And you know what? That shirt is sooooo soft…not at all like the starchy cheap stuff shirts sometimes comes in, so yay! I just love this prize pack.

***

Thanks so much to Kristilyn of Reading in Winter for hosting this giveaway and to the author, Krista Holle for sending it out to me! I can’t wait to read this book. As for the shirt, I’ll be prancing around in it! The design is cool and I’m proud to wear something so “literary!”

***

I did say I was lucky, right? Right?!? Well, behind door number two, I also won a fabulous book prize! Check it out!

Thanks to the Author Buzz contest through the Random Buzzers I was one of the chosen winners out of 300+ entries to win a hardback copy of The World Without You by Joshua Henkin!

***

And it’s SIGNED!! YES!!! Thank you Mr. Joshua Henkin. This copy will be treasured.

***

Were you as lucky as I was this week?

How have you stacked your bookshelves?

***

Zara Alexis

One thought on “Stacking the Shelves. 09.02.2012”

Leave a Reply

