My Family Reads Monday. 08.27.2012

My Family Reads Monday

08.27.2012

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez / @ZaraAlexis

Even though we just celebrated my daughter’s third birthday over the weekend (which is also why I’ve been too busy to post my most recent reviews!), my family is still able to engross themselves in books!

My husband is in the book business, I’m an editor, and my eight-year-old son seems to sway between wanting to be a fireman and a writer, while my daughter, well…her current aspiration is to be a “princess,” as per our heavily themed Princess Party on Saturday. Ahem. Perhaps this inclination comes from the book, The Paperbag Princess by Edward Munsch? Maybe.

So here’s a synopsis of my family’s reading choices for the week:

My Husband’s Pick of the Week:

***

***

Prior to this, my husband finished The Doomsday Conspiracy by Sidney Sheldon and would like to return to his genre of choice, historical fiction. His book pick of the week is The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett and it’s a hefty choice at 965 pages! I don’t think I’ll be bothering my husband with unnecessary interruption for a while.

***

My Son’s Pick of the Week:

***

***

Though Michael is a little disappointed that summer is almost over and he must return to school next week (he’ll be in Grade Three), he’s never disappointed in getting an opportunity to read a new book. His book pick of the week is Henry and Beezus by Beverly Cleary (who was also a favourite author of mine when I was his age!). Way to go, Michael!

***

My Daughter’s Pick of the Week:

***

***

Never underestimate the power of books (and DVD’s) when it comes to influencing your child’s imagination. My daughter has been prancing around with her crown, sceptre, and plastic princess heels for the past four days now.  Her book pick of the week is Disney Princess: Dressed for the Ball.

***

My Pick of the Week:

 

***

***

This has been in my TBR pile for a while now on account that other books nudged themselves ahead of it! I’ve reprimanded myself and I’m going to backtrack and give my older titles some well-deserved-reading-love. My book pick of the week is Absolution by Patrick Flanery.

***

What’s peaked your interest this week?

***

Zara Alexis

Leave a Reply

