Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Favourite Books I’ve Read During the Lifespan of My Blog. 08.21.2012

Top Ten Favorite Books I’ve Read During the Lifespan of My Blog

08.21.2012

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez / @ZaraAlexis 

This Top Ten list was quite difficult to downsize considering the number of books I’ve read in the last eight months and the number of books that I’ve loved. But because this list is limited to only 10, I had to scratch my head, bite my lips, and fret a little before coming up with these titles.

***

1. Interpreter of Maladies by Jhumpa Lahiri

***

2. A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini

***

3. Memories of My Melancholy Whores by Gabriel Garcia-Marquez

***

4. Alone in the Classroom by Elizabeth Hay

***

5. The Glass Boys by Nicole Lundrigan

***

6. I Am Forbidden by Anouk Markovits

***

7. This Will Be Difficult to Explain and Other Stories by Johanna Skibsrud

***

8. Half-Blood Blues by Esi Edugyan

***

9. The Rest Is Silence by Scott Fotheringham

***

10. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

***

Whew! It makes me proud to think of all the gifted writers and their equally diligent publishers who bring these books to the limelight. These are only 10 of the great books I’ve read so far during the lifespan of my blog, The Bibliotaphe’s Closet. I don’t doubt that the list will grow quite naturally with wonderful books being written and published, not only in Canada and the United States, but around the world!

All this excitement makes me want to return to my comfy couch, put my feet up,  sip a hot cup of coffee, and read!

***

How do you judge and decide whether a book is considered a “great read?”

***

Zara Alexis

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Favourite Books I’ve Read During the Lifespan of My Blog. 08.21.2012”

  1. I contemplated adding the Night Circus but opted for books that I think I’d like to reread some day and I don’t think I’ll feel the need to do so with Night Circus.

Leave a Reply

