Bout of Books Read-a-Thon Challenge: My Literary BFF. 08.13.2012

Bout of Books Read-a-Thon Challenge: My Literary BFF!

08.13.2012

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez / @ZaraAlexis

Thanks to Auggie at Auggie Talk for hosting this challenge:

Everyone has that one character. The character that they know they could relate to, get along with, have fun with, and laugh with. A literary BFF!

Tell us who your literary BFF is and why they’re your always friend. What do you guys do together? What do you talk about? Get creative and let us know who your Literary Best Friend is!

***

If you know me or are familiar with my blog posts, you’ll know that I can’t help, but choose one of my all-time favourite literary characters to be my literary BFF:

Shiloh

***

from The Dovekeepers by Alice Hoffman!

***

Shiloh is one of my all-time favourite characters! She is a former priestess, educated in literature, philosophy, and the dark arts. Though she is fiercely independent, somewhat a rebel in her audacity to go against the status quo, she is also fiercely loyal, passionate, sensual, with a high-capacity to love and help women who suffer in silence, secrecy, and fear.

I would be honoured in considering Shiloh one of my literary best friends because of our shared interests in education, literature, philosophy, and a passion for justice advocacy.

Besides being fiercely independent women who are also on the peripheral of society because of culture and personal, rebellious choices that go against the status quo, I appreciate Shiloh’s confidence, sensuality, and fearlessness.

Though I consider myself confident and a person willing to take risks in the name of justice against all forms of racism, sexism, and ageism, I’m not necessarily as fearless as she is or as overtly sensual, though I think by sharing her company, I could definitely be influenced to grow in confidence.

We also share an affinity and interest in religious and spiritual matters and a passion for doing what is right even if that means moving beyond societal expectations or norms. At heart, I believe Shiloh and I are both active feminists in an ongoing struggle against the assumptions of a patriarchal society.

For fun, we’d most likely talk and share amongst friends, discussions on literature, the arts, and spirituality. Like women who share recipes, we’d most likely share our secrets and our personal incantations of prayer for power and healing in whatever forms they may require.

Other than that, we’d probably do what most women enjoy doing together: eating, drinking, visiting the market for some great shopping, the spa for some well-deserved pampering, and yoga!

From: http://aspergercafe.files.wordpress.com/2011/11/yoga-1.jpg

***

For more posts on the Bout of Books Read-a-Thon, you can visit here.

***

Who would you consider to be your literary BFF if you could have one?

***

Zara Alexis

2 thoughts on “Bout of Books Read-a-Thon Challenge: My Literary BFF. 08.13.2012”

Leave a Reply

