Summer Wrap-Up Read-a-Thon Challenge: Volleyball By the Beach. 08.12.2012

Summer Wrap-Up Read-a-Thon Challenge: Volleyball By the Beach!

08.12.2012

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez / @ZaraAlexis

Thanks to Bekka at Pretty Deadly Reviews for hosting this volleyball challenge!

I was actually on the Girls Volleyball Team in grade school and high school, so I’m pretty familiar with the bump, volley, and the spike! Mind you, I’d sometimes miss…and I guess that’s perfect for this challenge because Bekka has given participants the premise that we’re all taking a break from our CRAZY READING and yes, we’re playing volleyball!

Go, team, go!

But wait…what happens…I was TOO BUSY thinking about the ramifications of the plot in The Red House by Mark Haddon (the book I’m reading now)…and OOPS!

That volleyball didn’t go over the net. Instead it flew overhead and hit a fictional character!!! OMG. The Read-a-Thon team is in trouble.

Who did I hit in all my reading distraction?

Looks like I got Shiloh from The Dovekeepers right in the head. Dear “GAWD!”

***

***

Shiloh is one of my all-time favourite characters. She is a former priestess, educated in literature, philosophy, and the dark arts. Though she is fiercely independent, somewhat a rebel in her audacity to go against the status quo, she is also fiercely loyal, passionate, sensual, with a high-capacity to love and help women who suffer in silence, secrecy, and fear.

And do you know what she did when I almost hit her with the volleyball?—

She stepped ever so slightly out-of-the-way because of her agility and her sharp instincts. Then she looked up to the sky, mumbled an incantation, and transformed the incoming object into a crow…that landed on her shoulder. She turned, beckoned me over, and once I arrived, she said,

“If you’re going to aim, don’t miss.”

In Korean mythology, the three-legged crow, SAMJOKGO is regarded as a symbol of power.

***

She smiled, opened my palm, and handed me a charm and a prayer scroll written in an ancient language…one that I instantly recognized and surprisingly could decipher…

And then the Witch of Moab walked away.

***

For more posts on the Summer Wrap-Up Read-a-Thon, you can visit here.

***

Which fictional character would you choose?

***

Zara Alexis

Leave a Reply

