Summer Wrap-Up Read-a-Thon! Hotter than Summer Challenge. 08.05.2012

Summer Wrap-Up Read-a-Thon!

Hotter than Summer Challenge

08.05.2012

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez / @ZaraAlexis

What’s hotter than the searing sun on a 40+ degree summer day? Not much except a freshly grilled sirloin… and perhaps these faint-worthy, fictional male characters in some of the books I’ve read this year so far.

The great thing about reading fiction is that you are free to imagine what characters look like (if they aren’t already on the front cover) and to decide for yourself what is considered “hot!”

But, I’m not one to judge primarily on looks alone and tend to gravitate more towards men with great character.

Because of the challenge’s requirement that books be read within 2012, my choice of men may surprise you!

***

Benny from The Rest Is Silence by Scott Fotheringham

***

What Benny looks like to me:

Model, Daniel A. (c) http://www.models.com

***

My review.

My “heat” rating:

Benny is not only a passionate and sensitive lover, but a man of a deep and turbulent past that he was able to overcome through his equally passionate concern for the environment. Not only is he a true nature lover and one to build himself a cottage in the middle of nowhere with his own hands, he is a character born of gifted intelligence and a courageous resilience to master his fear and the elements.

***

Man from the North in The Dovekeepers by Alice Hoffman

***

What the Man from the North looks like to me:

Blonde model stock photo. (c) 123rf.com

***

My “heat” rating:

The Man of the North is imprisoned as a slave in the novel based on his cultural background, but that doesn’t stop him from being a great man of physical and emotional strength as he restrains himself from anger and decides to choose forgiveness over hatred and hope over despair.

***

Grant Hastings of The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh

***

What Grant Hastings looks like to me:

Model, Shane S. (c) http://www.models.com

***

My “heat” rating:

What’s hotter than a young man who is mature beyond his years, has the ability to love without condition, knows how to cook a succulent meal, and knows the symbolism and meaning of flowers?

***

Marco in The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

***

What Marco looks like to me:

Model, Jeremiah L. (c) http://www.models.com

***

My review.

My “heat” rating:

Marco is both known for his attractive looks, elusive nature, and for his rare gift to create illusions in the minds of  other people. He is passionate about his talent, but even more passionate about his nemesis, Celia Bowen, of which they share an “out-of-this-world” romance.

***

My “heat” rating is conservative because no one rates as high as my passionate, faithful, and loving husband who gets 5 stars for being real and for being mine!

E., my husband. Hands off ladies, this “hottie” is mine!

My “heat” rating:

So, that’s it (for now, anyway…the year is still young!) Best of luck to the other read-a-thoners…it’s tough to concentrate in all this heat! 

Thanks to A Book Lover’s Review for hosting this challenge.

For more posts on the Summer Wrap-Up Read-a-Thon, you can visit here.

***

Who’s on your “Hotter than Summer” list?

***

Zara Alexis

6 thoughts on “Summer Wrap-Up Read-a-Thon! Hotter than Summer Challenge. 08.05.2012”

  1. Great list! I have not heard of most of those books but you have some yummy eye candy there 🙂 I also put an image in for the book I choose to show what the character looked liked n my head. That’s ace putting a piccie of your hubby on haha, does he know? You’ll get women swooning over him hehe x I love this challenge x

    1. I figured it would only be right to give him the honour he’s due! I am a married woman after all. It keeps the peace in the household. 😀 Will have to check out your challenge post when I get a chance. Thanks for stopping by and good luck with the read-a-thon!

Leave a Reply

