Random House of Canada’s Olympic Readathon: July 27-August 12

Random House of Canada’s Olympic Readathon:

July 27-August 12

07.23.2012

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez / @ZaraAlexis

 

For most of us push-ups, weight-lifts, or cardio runs seem all too exhausting. But, that’s why we’re not participating in the Summer Olympics in London, which is scheduled to air on July 27—and those brave and disciplined few have been called to represent the best athletic prowess of their country.

***

So, why not join them in spirit and participate in the Random House of Canada’s Olympic Readathon instead?

There are a few of us willing to endure late-night reading under lamplight until our eyes bulge out of their sockets from cover and climax reveals, to swoon-worthy, fictional characters, and plot-driven, maddening page-turners. We do it anyway. Why not commit to participating alongside other avid readers and knock off some titles from your TBR list?

 

My To-Be-Read/Reviewed List has ballooned to epic proportions and my house is exploding with piles that are collecting dust. I trust if you’re an addicted book blogger or just a mad book collector, the same is true for you. So, why not put your bookmarks away and get reading?

***

The Random House of Canada Readathon will run from July 27 to August 12, which gives you a lot of time to flex those reading muscles of yours. To sign up, you can register here. And be sure to check out the Retreat Random House blog page from which the original post was written.

 

@RandomHouseCA will be using the hashtag #OlympicReadathon to chat about our progress on Twitter, so be sure to join and tell your friends and family to cheer you on or come out and participate.

Twitter Bird…tweet, tweet, tweet!

***

Until then, I’ll be scrounging my piles to see what goodies I’ll be getting into for the readathon. See you at the Start—and hopefully, the Finish Line!

***

Are you a fan of the Olympics? Do you plan on keeping track of this year’s events?

Will you be participating in the Random House of Canada’s Olympic Readathon?

***

 

3 thoughts on “Random House of Canada’s Olympic Readathon: July 27-August 12”

  1. Hello! I LOVE this post, it makes me feel all energised to go READ already. I’m taking part this fortnight – turning pages is my favourite kind of exercise! – and aiming for 850 pages. I’m working for about 14 of the 17 days AND reading some non-fiction to kick off, so I reckoned 50 pages a day was a reasonable target… Good luck – I’ll be cheering you on from the next lane, swatting you with a bookmark when you start to flag! 😀
    Ellie @ Musings of a Bookshop Girl
    http://musingsofabookshopgirl.blogspot.co.uk/2012/07/the-olympic-read-thon.html

    1. So glad you dropped by Ellie! I will need a good reading partner with a bookmark in hand, ready to “swat” me back into the race. What with two kids running around and constant distraction, I’m not sure how much reading I’ll actually get done, but it’s always fun to try to plough through as many pages as you can. I find it easier to do with great books than I do with books I feel are lacking, but I’ve committed to reviewing for publishers! Hope you reach your goal. Mine is 1050 pages, which I approximated would be about three books. You swat the bookmark, I’ll pass you the reading Gatorade! Let’s go!!!

Leave a Reply

