Random Acts of Kindness (RAK): July 2012

Random Acts of Kindness (R.A.K.): July

07.04.2012

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez / @ZaraAlexis

Book Soulmates

It’s a new month and I’ve been going through a recent purge of sorts in a number of ways:

I’ve downsized my “friends” list on Facebook from 219 to 63 to better reflect my belief in nurturing more meaningful relationships in that quality is really more important than quantity.

***

I’ve committed to methodically digging into the storage boxes I have stacked in my basement to a) organize b) donate and c) throw out a number of unnecessary items that have collected and stored themselves into a land mass of clutter over the course of my young adult life.

This is my ultimate goal.

***

I’m in the process of moving my home office to the master bedroom in order to renovate it into my daughter’s room so that her and her brother have clearly defined boundaries and space (which will undoubtedly give us all some peace and quiet).

***

I plan on updating my phonebook, my Rolodex (yes, I still have one), my DVD directory, my iPod playlists, and my Last Will and Testament.

***

I even want to return to my Pilates and long-distance running regime with fervour.

***

I’m also incorporating new language lessons in French, Japanese, and Spanish (of whom my Latino in-laws will be thoroughly pleased).

***

I even successfully mailed out a penned letter to one of my international penpals today!

***

And so, in honour of all this hard-earned work and motivation, I thought it would be a good time to join in on the Random Acts of Kindness Club for the month of July.

I know exactly how it feels to receive a book in the mail. So, if I can spread a little bit of that joy to my fellow book lovers and book bloggers, I say, “On with it, then!”

And to those who are in the same generous state of mind, here’s my Wish List.

If you’d like to join R.A.K. here are the links you’ll need:

  • Sign up for July 2012 [HERE]
  • See who else is participating [HERE]
  • If you have any questions regarding RAK, please contact: rakbybooksoulmates (at) gmail (dot) com
***
Let the Random Acts of Kindness begin!
***
One thought on “Random Acts of Kindness (RAK): July 2012”

Leave a Reply

