My Family Reads Monday: 06.04.2012

My Family Reads Monday: 06.04.2012

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez / @ZaraA;exis

The originating seed that birthed The Bibliotaphe’s Closet blog was my desire to share my thoughts on books I’ve read with the wider reading community. But, book blogging has become so much more.

Aside from providing a platform of book criticism to the hands of avid readers themselves, to relationships with the promotional, outstretched arms of publishers, and to the collegial relationships built through social media with authors who used to remain recluse and primarily silent behind the words of their work in print—book blogging has become an expansive virtual community of book readers, writers, and lovers alike.

And so, I’ve also decided to incorporate my own literary family into the fold. I, am, by no means, not the only one who reads and loves doing it in my household. I come from a bookish family of four (excluding Max, our family dog, whose eyesight prevents her from reading on her own).

My Family Reads Monday features my family’s book choices and planned reading for the week!

My husband’s pick of the week:

(c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.

***

My husband’s background in the book industry and the religious ministry has afforded him many opportunities to share his opinion on fiction, non-fiction, and literature about spirituality. As part of his work, he attended a recent Conference in which he provided a few book reviews. His latest read and book of choice for this week is:

***

Christianity After Religion by Diana Butler Bass

From the Chapters-Indigo website:

…Religious affiliation is plummeting across the breadth of Christian denominations. And yet interest in “”spirituality”” is on the rise…

Offering direction and hope to individuals and churches, Christianity After Religion is Bass’s call to approach faith with a newfound freedom that is both life-giving and service driven. And it is a hope-filled plea to see and participate in creating a fresh, vital, contemporary way of faith that stays true to the real message of Jesus.


My son’s picks of the week:

(c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.

***

My seven-year-old reading enthusiast has proudly passed the milestone of reading full-length chapter books.

His choices for this week are:

***

Witch Switch by Nancy Krulik

From the Chapters-Indigo website:

Katie loves Halloween. Everyone is buzzing about the costume contest, the Halloween parade is just around the corner, and a mysterious black kitten has captured Katie’s attention. But the busy holiday doesn’t stop the magic wind! Join Katie in this Switcheroo Super Special for twice the switcheroos, and find out how she saves the day!

When asked what my son likes the most about the book sop far, he said, “Katie, who becomes a witch must face her greatest fears on the scariest day of the year, Halloween.”

(I think we have a book-blogger in the making…)

***

Looney Bay All-Stars: The Vikings Have a Field Day by Helaine Becker

 From the Chapters-Indigo website:

When the All-Stars go on a field trip to Meadows, Vikings show up and, thinking the All-Stars wreaked their settlement, take them captive. To win their freedom the All-Stars challenge the Vikings to a track and field day.

When asked what my son likes most about his read of this book, he said, “There are Vikings who are a kind of pirates and Viking boats in the story. The Viking boats are the best because instead of using a steering wheel they use a stick at the back that helps them steer in different ways. They use the stick to push them forward…”

My daughter’s pick of the week:

(c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.

***

My two-year-old daughter does not yet know how to read the printed word, but she loves opening up a book, looking at the pictures, and creating a story for herself from her imagination based on what she sees.

Her pick of the week is:

***

Sophie’s Big Bed by Tina Burke

From the Chapters-Indigo website:

Sophie loves her crib. But now, she has a new, big bed. A very big bed.

My daughter has moved from her crib to a new twin bed, so she is well aware of the change that this book speaks about. Ironically, the picture of the character, Sophie, looks much like my daughter, too! The book speaks about the transition from crib to bed and the bravery required in meeting this special milestone.

My pick of the week:

(c) Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.

***

***

I Am Forbidden by Anouk Markovits

From the Chapters-Indigo website:

The extraordinary story of a sister who believes and a sister who rebels, set inside the most insular Hasidic sect, the Satmar.

Spanning four generations, from pre-World War II Transylvania, to 1960s Paris, to contemporary New York, Markovits” masterful novel shows what happens when unwavering love and unyielding law clash–a rabbi will save himself while his followers perish; a Gentile maid will be commanded to give up the boy she rescued because he is not of her faith; two devoted sisters will be forced apart when one begins to question their religion’s ancient doctrine. One sister embraces and finds comfort in the constraints of the world she’s always known, while the other knows she will suffocate in a life without intellectual freedom. Separated by the rules of their community, the two sisters are brought together again when a family secret threatens to make pariahs of them all. Dark, powerful, and utterly compelling, I Am Forbidden takes us deep inside the minds of those who leave their restrictive environments, and deep into the souls of those who struggle to stay.

I am a few chapters in and the narrative and subject-matter is as sensitive as it is compelling.  I look forward to sharing my review with you once I complete my reading.

 ***

What are your family’s reading picks for the week?

***

