My Family Reads Monday: 05.28.2012

My Family Reads Monday: 05.28.2012

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez

With so many blogging memes out there, the blogger has a myriad of choices to follow, comment, and post about.

At The Bibliotaphe’s Closet, the love of reading is about building up the writing and reading community. Yes, I read. Yes, I review books. Yes, I share my humble opinions about them—but I’m not the only one who does this.

Just last week, in making my usual round in book-perusing, I struck up a conversation with a “stranger” in the book aisle of what will remain an unnamed, but popular store! It turned out that she was also a book blogger who happily recommended her preferable YA authors. We exchanged business cards and information (yes, we bloggers do carry those) and off we went to ooh and aah at various new releases on the shelves.

Community.

 

***

I sometimes forget that my family is also a literary one.

My husband is in the book business and works regularly with sales representatives from other publishers. The man knows his ISBN’s.

The man knows his ISBN’s. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.

***

My seven-year-old son is an avid reader though he won’t brag about it, he will often have a comic book or chapter book in his lap when most would expect him to be smashing his Hulk toy against his varied collection of Hot Wheels or dismantling yet another Transformer toy. (Trust me, he does do this, but when he doesn’t, he’s reading!)

Bookworm #1 (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.

And my two-year-old, though she can’t yet read words in print, she entertains herself by picking up a book, turning its board book pages, and recreates a story from her own imagination from the pictures that she sees.

Bookworm #2 (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.

***

My family reads. And so, the birth of another blogging meme: My Family Reads Mondays!

Why not join me? Just add your post to the linky below. And because reading and blogging is about community, I encourage you to visit other blogs listed to check out what families are reading together. This is a brand new meme, so please help pass the word along so others can join in the fun!

This week:

My husband is reading his birthday present: a copy of Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. No, it wasn’t a last-minute gift. He actually wanted it. And he’s in his 40’s! That’s my sweetheart. He wants to read the book before seeing the movie.

***

My son is reading Tiny Titans Field Trippin’, art by Baltazar Franco. He thinks it’s especially intelligent that the Batman-Dog named Ace has a sidekick, “a Robin, robin!” And I fully agree with him. Reading is and should be fun!

***

My daughter is enjoying a collection of Robert Munsch board books: Thomas’ Snowsuit, The Paper Bag Princess, and Mortimer. She especially likes imitating Thomas when he says “no!” Of course she does. She’s my daughter.

***

As for me, I just finished reading The Headmaster’s Wager by Vincent Lam and will begin a collection of short stories in the book called The Dead Are More Visible by Steven Heighton, if not ever so tempted to cheat and read Divergent by Veronica Roth instead. (I finally broke down and bought a copy after visiting it at the bookstore numerous times! I just had to have it. You know that feeling, don’t you?)

 ***

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

***

What are you and your family reading this week? To share, create a post and link up to this new weekly meme. Linky will close on Sunday, June 6, 2012.

Until then, happy family reading!

***

Leave a Reply

