Asian Heritage Month Blog Event: You Don’t Have to Go All the Way to Asia When You Can Go Here…

Asian Heritage Month Blog Event:

You don’t have to go all the way to Asia when you can go here…

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez

I’m a Canadian-born descendent of the native islands of the Philippines. I’ve been there a total of three times in my life. And it’s always been my desire to visit Japan, China, Tibet, and Korea.

Rice terraces, Philippines.

***

But, as a Canadian on a budget with two young children and very little vacation time, that desire stays contained within the confines of my imagination.

In the meantime, I, do, instead, frequent some local spots that give me a little “taste” of Asia.

A Taste of Japan

One of my favourite foods is Japanese sushi. And so, when I get an opportunity to eat as much of it as I can in one sitting without restraint, I go to 168 Sushi Japan Restaurant, a Japanese sushi buffet.

168 Sushi Japan Restaurant

***

I particularly love that the menu also includes Chinese wok favourites and Korean dishes. It’s a three-in-one Asian fiesta dream!

The prices are more than reasonable and the food, fresh. You can order as little or as much as you want at one time and work through the entire menu. Dessert and drinks are also included in the buffet price.

If you do get a chance to visit, be sure to try my favourites:

Miso Soup

***

Beef Noodle

***

Kimchi (Korean)

***

Bulgogi (Korean)

***

Kalbi (Korean)

***

Sushi

Maguro (tuna)

***

Unagi (eel)

***

Sakura-masu (cherry salmon)

***

Spicy Tuna Wrap

***

Red Bean ice cream

***

Green Tea ice cream

***

A Taste of China

Yes, there’s always Chinatown in downtown Toronto, which I have frequented often enough during the summer. There’s a myriad of restaurants, shops, and local vendors to give you a sense of Chinese Asia.

But, when I can’t wait until the summer and I only want to travel a few clicks, I go to The Mississauga Chinese Centre.

Dragon wall,Mississauga Chinese Centre. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.
Mississauga Chinese Centre entrance. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.
Small bridge, Mississauga Chinese Centre. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.
Statue, Mississauga Chinese Centre. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.
Chinese building, Mississauga Centre. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez.
Water fountain, Mississauga Chinese Centre. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.
My daughter and husband looking at the fish in the pond. Mississauga Chinese Centre. May 18, 2012. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.

***

My favourite little shop is called Arts Court, owner Jacqueline Tsui, which has a number of Asian trinkets, statues, and other goodies. And it has great prices! Just the other day, on Friday, I splurged on the following:

Trinkets from the Mississauga Chinese Centre. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.

***

 I bought Geisha chopsticks and floral Japanese chopsticks; four small Chinese coin purses; one Chinese embroidered wallet; a Chinese turquoise bracelet; two compact mirrors; a geisha hanging figurine; three Chinese lucky coins; a Buddha figurine set (6); red Chinese coin envelopes; red Chinese slippers; Lucky golden Chinese cat; a Japanese statue tea light lamp; and a tin of Tikuanyin Tea.

(c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.
My geisha and floral Japanese chopsticks. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.
My Chinese lucky golden cat. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.
Tikuanyin Tea. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.
My lucky Chinese cat. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.

A Taste of Korea

And on our wedding anniversary, my husband has taken me to Miga, a Japanese & Korean Restaurant.

***

It’s reasonably priced for a restaurant  that cooks or BBQ’s your food right in front of you at your table!

***

A Taste of Tibet

I have visited a nice little shop, The Tibet Shoppe  in Toronto that hosts a beautiful array of Tibetan artifacts and jewellery. It’s a little pricey, but I don’t mind spending a little money in support of the artists of the Tibetan diaspora.

Inside the Tibet Shoppe.

I especially purchased these items:

Tibetan necklace and black obsidian mala beads. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.
My Tibetan jewellery. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.

***

I bought a Lapis Lazuli (blue) silver ring, earrings, and bracelet; a sterling silver Tibetan necklace; a coral gem ring; a turquoise necklace; a sterling silver elephant ring; and an om mani padme hum turning-wheel ring.

***

To read more posts for the Asian Heritage Month Blog Event, please visit here.

 ***

What local spots do you like to visit that give you a little “taste” of Asia?

***

My name in Tibetan.
2 thoughts on “Asian Heritage Month Blog Event: You Don’t Have to Go All the Way to Asia When You Can Go Here…”

  1. You don’t have to go to Asia but you would be very welcome if you did!
    It’s too bad there aren’t Canadian restaurants and Canadian stores in Asia!

Leave a Reply

