Making the Headlines in “Mom’s Gazette” – Mother’s Day Series: Part 3

Making the Headlines in

“Mom’s Gazette”

Mother’s Day Series: Part 3

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez

Ever since I first read the book, The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh, it compelled me to want to study horticulture to acquire the ability to grow an indoor garden or out. (You can read my review here.)

I have four favourite flowers:

The Butterfly Orchid

***

The Calla Lily

***

The Sampaguita (The Philippine Jasmine)

***

and Sakura (Cherry Blossom)

***

I received none of those for Mother’s Day—contrary to what I was expecting, I received no flowers at all!

Or breakfast in bed (my husband isn’t in agreement with the possibility of crumbs on bed sheets, so this isn’t a treat I have ever experienced yet—oh well, maybe next year…)

***

I did, however, receive an all-weekend-pass to:

“You can do whatever you want, Mommy, May 2012.”

So, my Mother’s Day tribute began on Friday at 168 Sushi Japan Restaurant, a favourite spot for my husband and myself.

168 Sushi Japan Restaurant

***

The restaurant crowd was filled with the social buzz of culturally curious youth, interracial Asian couples, and corporate business men and women, prestigious enough to eat slowly, laugh loudly, and not clock their corporate lunch on corporate time—and us, a small, young family of four, having an impromptu treat to sushi.

The celebration of Mommyhood was in full force as my husband and daughter happily chomped down their beef teriyaki and gin-zake, while my eldest son was slow and cautious, begrudgingly swallowing food as if the raw sushi itself would resurrect right into his throat and nip at his tonsils. My son was always given to drama.

And so, while I multi-tasked between cutting chicken and kalbi pieces for my two-year-old, I also flagged down the waitress for a large order of fries. And that’s when my son sat up straight, perked up his ears at the change in menu, and happily clipped his chopsticks together like an alligator practicing intimidation before his next meal: chomp, chomp!

***

Much of my Mother’s Day weekend was like this; my husband and children surrounded me with their daily nuances and needs. But that’s motherhood, its crux and its joy—the necessity of who you are and what you lovingly provide for them.

In return, I received some time to visit a local bookstore and bought myself a paper stand (all the better to see my written reviews or content for posts with) and a new weapon of choice: Maybelline Super Stay 14-Hour Lipstick in Timeless Crimson. Plus, a new pair of Geisha chopsticks for my ever-growing collection of Asian products! BAM!

My lips in Timeless Crimson, Maybelline Super Stay 14-Hour Lipstick. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.

***

Maybelline Super Stay 14-Hour Lipstick in Timeless Crimson. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.

***

My new pair of geisha chopsticks—perfect for the renovation of my home office and its Asian theme! (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.

***

And of course, I was presented with a personalized gift made by my son, which always makes the gift more meaningful. Its medium was also coincidently fitting: a cover page headline in the newspaper, Mom’s Gazette!

M&M presenting me with my Mother’s Day gift: a headline in “Mom’s Gazette.” May 2012. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.

***

And though my son broke the rules of his assignment by not drawing only a picture of the two of us, he drew instead, a view of his bedroom from an open door–-because it’s the place he loves spending the most time in and the place that I “clean up the most.”  (Makes sense!)

The room in the picture is clearly recognizable to me: a lamp, his bunk bed, his laundry basket, desk, computer, his toys, and a picture of us together while he “reads a chapter from his book for his school’s RAH Program (Reading at Home).

My copy of “Mom’s Gazette” for Mother’s Day, May 2012. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.

***

Close-up of my Mother’s Day Gift, May 2012. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.

***

Here’s a translation of the article’s content:

World’s Best Mom!

One mother breaks all records to be named Top Mom.

When asked about this honour, her child had this a response:

My mom rocks! She is funny.

When she hugs me, it makes me so happy.

I love doing things with her, especially dancing.

She is so good at singing.

She really is the best!

***

I remember the day when my son  first came into my life and made me a shocked and frightened mother with a child no more than 2 lbs. and 18 oz.— and then when my daughter dispelled this fear by giving me a second chance at empowerment by labouring in preparation and without fear.

***

Becoming a mother…again… (c) Photo Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.

***

During my pregnancy with her, I studied the labour-coping and life-saving book, Juju Sundin’s Birth Skills: Proven Pain-Management Techniques for Your Labour and BirthFor those of you who are pregnant for the first time or need more confidence in facing the pain of labour, this book is brilliant! It has real techniques that you can learn and choose from for pain management in better coping and understanding labour and birthing. I highly recommend it for any woman on her way to bringing another baby into the world.

***

***

And years later, here are my two little monkeys posing for the camera in presenting me with my Mother’s Day gift, the Mom’s Gazette:

***

***

No, I didn’t receive breakfast in bed. Nor did I get a bouquet of my favourite flowers. I did, however, receive what is always best on Mother’s Day: unconditional “Mommy” love, a platter of sushi, some laughs, and quality time spent with my kids.

M. at Gage Park in celebration of our Mother’s Day weekend! (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.
X.M. on swings at Gage Park in celebration of Mother’s Day 2012! (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez. All rights reserved.

***

How did you celebrate Mother’s Day? What was the best part of your celebration?

***

One thought on “Making the Headlines in “Mom’s Gazette” – Mother’s Day Series: Part 3”

Leave a Reply

