Sunday Summary: 04.29.2012

Sunday Summary

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez

I haven’t yet had the pleasure of posting a summary on my blog and a lot of exciting things have happened!

Here’s a look back at April 2012:

1. Spring into Books Giveaway (March 20-31) for The Virgin Cure by Ami McKay was successfully awarded to Lilian Cheng in Honolulu, Hawaii.

2. Bloggiesta ¡Olé! Blog Marathon Event (March 30-April 1) was a great opportunity for me to redesign The Bibliotaphe’s Closet, learn some technical tips and tricks to help improve readership and design of my blog, and also connect with other bloggers around the world who participated in the Bloggiesta Marathon. To see my posts and completed challenges for the Bloggiesta, you can visit here.

¡Olé!

I committed to participating in the 100+ Books Challenge on April 2, which is double what I aimed for last year. We’ll see if I can first complete my 50 Books Pledge.

I decided to host my own snippet of the All Things Asian Event (April 2-16) by featuring information about my home country, the Philippines. To see my posts relating to the All Things Asian Event, please visit here.

***

The Gone Reading Giveaway for the “Books to Check Out” book journal began on April 17 and ends tomorrow on April 30, so there’s still time to enter if you haven’t yet put your name in the hat!

"Books to Check Out" Book Journal

The Dewey 24-Hour Read-a-Thon was an intensive time from April 21-22 to read, read, read—and complete some mini challenges. I was able to complete one book and 11 challenges in total. To see my posts for my Doing the Dewey version, please visit here.

Me "dewing" the Dewey! With my own personal cheerleader!

I implemented another Friday Feature—Bookish Fun Fridays:

Bookish Fun. 04.20.2012

Bookish Fun. 04.28.2012

And I joined Team Erudite!

Online Chats:

From time to time, I’ll be lucky enough to win a few books on the commitment that I will ready and participate in a scheduled chat. This month, I participated in three:

Losing Clementine by Ashley Ream on April 10

Web of Angels by Lilian Nattel on April 18

The Trail of the Spellmans by Lisa Lutz on April 25

Reviews:

Karma by Cathy Ostlere

The Girl Who Could Silence the Wind by Meg Medina

The Bellwether Revivals by Benjamin Wood

Why Men Lie by Linden MacIntyre

WHY MEN LIE by Linden MacIntyre

The Future of Us by Jay Asher and Carolyn Mackler

THE FUTURE OF US by Jay Asher and Carolyn Mackler

Alone in the Classroom by Elizabeth Hay

The Rest Is Silence by Scott Fotheringham

REST IS SILENCE by Scott Fotheringham

The Gathering by Kelley Armstrong

New Books:

Will be featured on my Tote Bag Tuesday post.

Fun Posts:

It’s Maki’s Birthday!

Maki, the birthday pup with M. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez.

Harry Potter Has Infiltrated Our House!

M. compromised with a Chinese art brush as a wand in lieu of a promise to go shopping at Diagon Alley.

What to Expect in May (So Far):

Asian Heritage Month: featuring different Asian countries aside from the Philippines.

Mother’s Day Post

Children Feature: in celebration of Mother’s Day, I’ll be posting reviews on Children’s books.

***

Leave a Reply

