I Did the Dewey! End of Event. 04.22.2012

I Did the Dewey!

End of Event Meme

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez

What? Huh? Did I make it?

Me "dewing" the Dewey! With my own personal cheerleader!

(Zara rubs her eyes…)

OMG! It’s 9:30 a.m. The Finish Line!

If. I. Could. Just. Get. My. Leg. To. Work.—Go. C’mon, foot. One. More. Step—

Victory!!

Okay, so I didn’t stay awake the whole 24-hours, but I was close. So, very close. I slept at 4:45 a.m. Why I’m bragging about such madness beats me. Maybe I’m tired or hallucinatory from a lack of sleep.

But, hey! I read. I met some awesome co-conspirators. And I even won a prize!!! (Just scroll down until you see “Picturiffic!”)

Can you give me another shout of

Victory?!!?

Oh yeah. Feels nice.

So, let’s end off with the End of Event Meme and then I can hop into the shower and pour myself a cup of fine, sweet coffee…

I look much happier her than I should!

***

1. Which hour was most daunting for you?

3:00 a.m. I was starting to really feel tired and thought to myself, “C’mon wimp! Only a few more pages!” And then my inner voice got mad at the critique and said, “I’ll show you, you Book Tyrant!”

"I'll show you, you Book Tyrant!"

2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year?

Books are books. Every single one of them deserves a peek. For me, it’s subjective. What someone else likes, I could hate, and vice versa. You can find my picks of choice by reading one of my Dewey Mini Challenges post here about rereading.

3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year?

A scheduled online chat time would be great, just to bring everyone together and feel more like a community of book-reading ninjas! Tweetchat would have loved to host us. Hope to see this happen next year!

I'm the smallest one at the back and I look fierce!

4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-Thon?

The mini challenges were fun and something to look forward to in breaking up my reading time. Loved it. I was able to complete 11 mini challenges in total. Thanks to all who hosted and submitted generously of their time and their prizes!

5. How many books did you read?

I had three on my list because I’m honest with myself about my reading attention span. (Plus, I’ve got two little monkeys that kept me busy…) In the end, I finished one book!

M&M, my two kidsters.

6. What were the names of the books you read?

The Rest Is Silence by Scott Fotheringham

REST IS SILENCE by Scott Fotheringham (Click on photo for more details.)

7. Which book did you enjoy most?

That was it. I was going to get into The Gathering, but I was compelled by Fotheringham’s book.

THE GATHERING by Kelly Armstrong

8. Which did you enjoy least?

None. Reading is awesome!

9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders?

Write with a sense of humour. Be vocal on Twitter. Visit as many pages as you can. Be empathetic. Use pom-poms if necessary for inspiration. Have fun!

You don't have to jump THIS high, but have a great, positive spirit of encouragement!

10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time?

I’m in! I think I’d like to give back and participate as a reader and a cheerleader. I might even host a challenge…oh….this is exciting! I’m ready to “dew” the Dewey! Sisk! Boom! Bah!

***

To see my posts about “Doing the Dewey” check out my Dewey Page!

***

Thanks to all who hosted and participated. Let’s keep reading. My Read-a-Thon continues with vigour. Everyone’s a champ who at least makes an effort to read during the Read-a-Thon!

Until next year, keep turning those pages.

5 thoughts on “I Did the Dewey! End of Event. 04.22.2012”

    1. Awesome! I’m going to drink and eat—and be sleepy. Then I’ll work on a review. Glad to hear it’s on your list. It’s pretty good. P.S. Did I mention, you’re one of my most faithful and awesome followers? Just saying. Have a great Sunday. 😀

Leave a Reply

