Doing the Dewey Read-a-Thon: Off to the Races! 04.21.2012

Doing the Dewey Read-a-Thon:

Off to the Races!

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez

Okay, I’m an hour-and-a-half late. The Dewey started at 8:00 a.m. and looky here: it’s already almost 10:00 a.m.! Yikes!

I’m not sure how successful I’ll be today in consideration I have two young ones:

A hyperactive eight-year-old who enjoys narrating the latest adventures of The Legend of the Dragon in detail and a two-year-old who will throw a panic attack if she doesn’t have her specific pink, fleece blanket in her arms.

Ang, the Dragon Temple Guardian.

And did I mention I have a really messy house with potentially five loads of laundry, three loads of dishes, and bathrooms that need a good sponge down?

Okay. Deep breath.

But, I’ve committed myself to reading. I love marathons!

(For those of you who don’t know, I used to be a long-distance runner, a girl on the Track & Field Team and the Cross Country Team—my ideal event, the 1500—though I also ran the 3000!)

So here’s a lovely pile of books I’d like to hide with today:

  1. The Rest Is Silence by Scott Fotheringham
  2. The Gathering by Kelly Armstrong
  3. Please Look After Mom by Kyung-Sook-Shin
Realistically, I doubt I’ll get through any more than those (if I do, that is!)
***
So, ready? Let the races begin!
***

4 thoughts on “Doing the Dewey Read-a-Thon: Off to the Races! 04.21.2012”

  1. What a fantastic post!!! Kept me laughing! Don’t you wish there was a pause button for cleaning?

    By the way, I just started running. I am loving it! It’s tough but so great at the same time!

    NovaReylin @ CrtMusings.com [Cheer Team:Puck]

    1. Awesome! I stopped so long ago and I miss it terribly. I should start up again and get my body back into shape. It’s a wonderful way to keep yourself healthy and long runs are so meditative and challenging. No one to bother you. No one to compete with you. It’s just you and the pavement. Keep running! Keep going! Congrats on starting it up! And thanks for dropping by and leaving me a note on my blog. 😀

Leave a Reply

