Doing the Dewey: Mini Challenge #7: Loving the Library! 04.21.2012

Doing the Dewey: Mini Challenge #7:

Loving the Library!

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez

I love reading so it’s quite natural for me to gravitate towards the library. I have ever since I first learned how to read.

I signed up for my very first library card when I was eight.

And now, I have two young children: a seven-year-old son and a two-year-old daughter, both of whom I take to the library. Often.

My little ones and I make a trip to our local library, pictured here at the Brampton Four Corners Branch.

We had a “day out,” on our own without Daddy. Where did we go? The library!

My son picked, The Pond Circle by Betsy Franco, off the shelf, opened it up, and began to read. I loved hearing his words form into slow, clear sentences. He was learning just as I did, years ago. And I remembered myself.

M. checking out the library shelves.

It’s a wonderful story of connection between nature and all living things. My son loved its rhythm, and I, the pictures.

M. with his book choice: POND CIRCLE.
An image from The Pond Circle. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez.

I bought the book for my children months later to commemorate our time together and to ensure we could enjoy the book together before bedtime.

It’s not a flashy memory by any means, but one of those moments that was shared in one of what has become a sacred place for me and my children—the library.

***

Thanks to Kanaye for hosting this challenge for the Dewey!

***

Leave a Reply

