Doing the Dewey: Mini Challenge #3: Find a Poem! 04.21.2012

Doing the Dewey: Mini Challenge #3:

Find a Poem!

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez

Islands of quiet remain

I am happier here than I remember being

since I was a kid.

“You got lost, eh?”

He points into the forest.

My shirt was damp and blackflies were stuck

in my sweat

I open the tent door

Nova Scotia—

(Nova Scotia ain’t for sissies.)

It’s true, we weren’t going anywhere.

The two of us are hanging on,

alone at the edge of the world.

I think of Benny, Lina, my Dad, New York…

the ruin of plastics

polymers

promises.

I am alone in my tent

coming towards the end.

***

Created by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez inspired by The Rest Is Silence by Scott Fotheringham.

***

A special thanks to The Hungry Reader for providing another mini challenge for the Dewey!

2 thoughts on “Doing the Dewey: Mini Challenge #3: Find a Poem! 04.21.2012”

Leave a Reply

