Gone Reading Giveaway: April 17-30!

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez

Gone Reading Giveaway: April 17-30

Gone Reading Giveaway! April 17-30.

***

Do you remember the first time you learned how to read?

I do. I was six-years-old.

Zara, age 6

And the hieroglyph of letters slowly came together in focus to give me the power of words—to understand them and read them off the page. The book was Poems and Rhymes, Volume 1 of the Childcraft Encyclopaedia.

POEMS AND RHYMES, VOL. 1, CHILDCRAFT

Finally, what the world was saying in print on signs, in commercials, in the newspaper, in magazines, and books were translatable to me as a child. Language was no longer alien to me. I was no longer ignorant to the block letter, to its script.

The day I learned to read, I became free.

So, it is much more than stories and fiction. It’s understanding. It’s knowledge. It’s learning. And re-learning. Vocabulary grows.

Do you remember the first time you signed up for your first library card?

I do. I was eight-years-old.

My father stood with me in line at the Bramalea Public Library on the first floor (this library had two). I filled out an application by my own hand. I signed it. My father co-signed it as a witness. The librarian made a copy of my identification, which consisted of my birth certificate and my father’s driver’s license for my address. And she came back with a smile—and a newly laminated library card with my name on it!

***

I had the freedom then, too, to borrow books on my own. My family and I went to the library every two weeks on a Saturday until I started to go on my own once a week!

I’d browse the racks of beautifully bounded books. I’d claim a few for my tote bag. I’d sit in a chair or on the floor and open up a new world.

Or sometimes my visit to the library was on account of a school project I was working on. This was at a time before the Internet existed and card catalogues were still the search engines of the day. Librarians were a helpful resource who led me to research books and the magic of microfiche.

The old card catalogue system.

It was on account of libraries that I could complete school projects and earn top grades in my class, that my knowledge and vocabulary grew, and that my love of reading continues to endure.

Brampton Four Corners Public Library, upper level.

***

Which motivated me to support and feature the philanthropic mission of a great little company called, GoneReading!

Have you GoneReading?

GoneReading donates 100% of its after-tax profits to provide new funding for libraries and reading-related charities.

By purchasing GoneReading brand gifts and merchandise, you’re helping further the cause and the gift of reading around the world! All purchases from GoneReading help contribute to this. See how!

In the Developing World

GoneReading donates to great non-profits such as READ Global and Ethiopia Reads, amazing organizations with proven models, long track records, and dedicated teams on the ground.

Such groups partner with local villages and communities in the most underdeveloped parts of the world to create new libraries that effect real change!

North Dakota Friends of Ethiopia Reads meeting at NDMOA
Work done through READ Global.

In the United States

GoneReading is currently piloting a fundraising program to raise money for public libraries within the United States.

See how you can partner with GoneReading to help with Library Fundraising.

***

And in honour of their work, I’m hosting a GoneReading Giveaway!

One of my lucky followers can win a “Books to Check Out” Book Journal from GoneReading!

"Books to Check Out" Book Journal from GoneReading

Giveaway Rules:

  1. This giveaway is INTERNATIONAL!
  2. You must have a valid email and mailing address to qualify. No P.O. Box  addresses accepted.
  3. You must be 15 years old or older to enter.
  4. You must follow my blog to enter and complete the online form below.
  5. You must sign up for GoneReading’s Preferred Customer Email List.
  6. Only one entry per person, excluding extra-earned entries.
  7. A winner will be chosen based on highest points earned. If there is a tie, a winner will be chosen randomly through random.org.
  8. Winner must respond to notification within 48 hours to claim prize. If winner fails to claim prize, a new winner will be chosen.
  9. Contest ends Monday, April 30, 2012 at 11:59 p.m. EST
  10. For further details, please visit Zara Alexis’ Giveaway Contest Policy.


*** 

A special thank you to Brad Wirz, Founder and CEO of GoneReading for his generous donation of the giveaway prize and for GoneReading’s work in advocating literacy in real, creative, and active ways.

Brad and Eileen Wirz (bottom left) meet with READ Global in Nepal.

 ***

To learn more about GoneReading and how you can support them, please visit their website!

Until then, happy reading. Let’s work together so more people can.

Zara Alexis

3 thoughts on “Gone Reading Giveaway: April 17-30!”

  1. thanks you a lot for sharing this with us( i think i did a mistake while counting my entries it’s 9 and not 8^^;; i counted 1 instead of 2 for the suscription) sorry

Leave a Reply

