Meet Me on Monday: 04.02.2012

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez
Acting Balanced

Based on the original Meet Me on Monday hosted by Java at Never Growing Old, Acting Balanced will ask five questions on Sunday evening along with a linky for participants to post answers!

Here are today’s questions (and my answers):

1. Did you prank, get pranked or ignore April Fool’s Day?

No! I was actually looking forward to some savvy tricks, but I couldn’t be fooled yesterday! Nor did I bother to trick anyone else. I was really busty participating in this year’s Bloggiesta ¡Olé! Blogathon Event. No, foolin’!

But, I’m glad it’s April, which is also Poetry Month!

So, why not share one of my favourite famous poems:

***

The Red Wheelbarrow by William Carlos Williams

so much depends
upon

a red wheel
barrow

glazed with rain
water

beside the white
chickens.

 ***

2. What is the most unusual thing you have in your pantry or refrigerator right now?

I actually don’t consider any type of food unusual since I’m a big fan of eating and “tasting” foods from different cultures. I think the most exotic food in my fridge right now is a tub of my favourite side dish: Korean kimchi. It’s spicy and oh-so-good!

Korean kimchi. Made with nappa cabbage.

***

3. If you were in the “Miss America” (or another) talent competition, what would your talent be?

My performing talent for something like a Miss Canada pageant would most likely be singing. I love it and have always remembered doing it since I was a young child. The first time I realized I could sing was when I walked home when I was nine-years-old from school singing a song to myself, not realizing D.D. was behind me listening. He caught up to me and said,

 “Wow, Zara! I didn’t know you could sing…”

I didn’t know either until he told me! Since then I joined choir all the way into university and was a member of choirs at church. I don’t consider myself Canadian Idol material, but I can hold a note…or two.

Simon Cowell.

4. What is one thing you miss about being a kid?

I really miss my body of youth! I didn’t realize it at the time, but my body was in great condition and I had this reservoir of energy. I also miss the innocence and optimism that goes along with being a kid. The perspective of a child is unfiltered, honest, and usually innocent. With age, I find, that I’m more self-conscious than I was as a child and also burdened by the disappointment I sometimes find in the capacity and nature of the human spirit to do more harm than good. I think the most I miss from being a child is being one who is unmarred by the existence of “evil.”

(Oh, and my Big Wheel. I loved my Big Wheel!)

My Big Wheel. I rode this EVERY DAY. Oh, yes I did!

5. If you HAD to change your name, what would you change it to?

I would hate to sound vain, but I love my name and have identified with it well. It is, after all, mine! But, if given an opportunity to choose one other than the one I already have, I think I’d name myself:

Umeko (pure blossom child) Yana (kindness)

***

Thanks for meeting up with me again this Monday!

Thank you to Heather Smith of Acting Balanced for her continual hosting of this creative and fun meme. To see who else is participating, please visit here.

***

Zara Alexis
2 thoughts on “Meet Me on Monday: 04.02.2012”

Leave a Reply

