Meet Me on Monday: 03.26.2012

Acting Balanced

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez

Based on the original Meet Me on Monday hosted by Java at Never Growing Old, Acting Balanced will ask five questions on Sunday evening along with a linky for participants to post answers!

Here are today’s questions (and my answers):

1. What movie or movies do you have to watch when they are on TV? (submitted by @rndmcrftyGAgrl)

As a family we decided our lifestyle didn’t really require television, so we cancelled cable a few months ago, which has afforded us the time to do more and other productive things either independently or as a family. That said, when we did have cable, I’d enjoy watching any movie on television simply because it was on and this afforded me the luxury of not having to check our movie DVD library for a copy. As a preference though, I prefer to watch movies on DVD/Blu Ray because of the quality of the picture and because I can avoid watching commercials altogether. One of my favourite movies? Memoirs of a Geisha. Not only a beautiful story, but an even more aesthetically striking film.

To see a video trailer of the movie, MEMOIRS OF A GEISHA, click on picture.

2. When you have out of town visitors, what fun places do you take them to in your town?  (Or where do you play tourist in your own town?)

If it’s the right season, there is a small park called Kariya Park in Mississauga that houses beautiful cherry blossom trees. It’s one of my favourite places to visit when the trees are in bloom.


3. What was the first album, CD, or download you [have] ever bought?

The very first eight-track (because I used to sing and dance to them when I was four-years-old) was “Sugar Sugar” by The Archies! I love that song until this day and every time I hear it I become nostalgic about my childhood.

To see the video of "Sugar Sugar" performed by The Archies, click on the picture.

***

My very first tape cassette (yes, you heard me right, young pups!) I bought was Madonna’s “Like a Virgin” collection because she was my idol at the time. I dressed like her. I sang all her songs. And I even performed “Lucky Star” for the talent show at my school when I was a kid.

To see the video of "Like a Virgin," click on the picture.

***

My first album was the “Catching Up with Depeche Mode” for the LP, “Somebody” by Depeche Mode. It was my first “love song” with my very first boyfriend and first love… I was sweet 16.

To see the video of "Somebody" by Depeche Mode, click on the picture.

***

And my first CD was Homogenic by Bjork. All of these collections are a vital part of my musical history and identity.

To listen to "Joga" (one of my favourite songs) by Bjork, click on picture.

***

4. Do you speak more than one language and which ones?  If not, what language would you like to know?

I know how to speak a little:

I would like to learn:

5. What is your dream job?

Tending my own vineyard and writing full-time as a published writer. Second to that, I’d love to be a professional singer…

Thank you to Heather Smith of Acting Balanced for her continual hosting of this creative and fun meme. To see who else is participating, please visit here.

***

Zara Alexis
4 thoughts on “Meet Me on Monday: 03.26.2012”

    1. Wayne, thanks for stopping by again! Yes, do watch the movie. It’s a magnificent feast for the eyes. And thanks for the compliment on the music. Sentimental stuff, all of it. Happy Monday!

  1. I didn’t realize you were in Mississauga… I head home to Toronto every summer for several weeks to visit family…
    I loved Madonna as a little girl too.

Leave a Reply

