Zara’s Bucket List Sunday: 01.29.2012

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez

Grow my hair down to my waist

For me, hair has always been a mere accessory. I have a small fear of spiders, centipedes, snakes. I have a larger fear of heights. But, I’ve never feared doing anything different with my hair.

My mom grew it out when I was a young girl.

Zara, age 6

In highschool, when I paved the way for girls to join the wrestling team, I felt it pertinent to shave all my hair off as a statement of gender issues people have.

In university, I went pixie.

Zara, University days

When I was pregnant with my first child, I couldn’t be bothered to go to the salon for a haircut, so I left it alone until it grew to my mid-back.

Zara, pregnant and growing her hair long...

As a mother of two, I went for the easy “Mommy bob.”

Zara and her "Mommy Bob"

In between all this hair frenzy, I’ve been bald, had French braids, and dreadlocks.

So, now, I feel like letting down my hair.

Down to my waist, that is.

(Grant me the patience and the shampoo-budget to make this happen!)

***

STATUS: IN PROGRESS

***

Zara Alexis
One thought on “Zara’s Bucket List Sunday: 01.29.2012”

Leave a Reply

