Five-Question Friday: 03.23.2012

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez

Welcome to 5-Question-Friday, a blog meme hosted by My Little Life.

Here are today’s five questions and my answers:

1. If you were free to just hop in the car and drive, where would you go? Or, if you could hop a plane and go anywhere, where?

If I were free to just hop in the car and drive, I’d go to New York City for a few days and:

  • take photographs of the Manhattan Skyline
Manhattan skyline and Brooklyn Bridge. Photo by Dave Kilman.
***

  • visit the Statue of Liberty and scrawl my name on her crown
She wears flowing robes and seven rays of the spiked crown symbolizes the seven seas and continents.
***

  • take a photo of myself under the Broadway street sign doing a Grand Jeté!
Broadway street sign in New York.
***

  • try to hit all the restaurants and shop spots that were frequented in Carrie in Sex and the City
Patricia Field who became SATC's stylist has a little shop. If you're a Carrie fan and love her clothes and accessories, this shop is for you.
Gray's Papaya: Carrie stops here for a hot dog after her book party!
***

  • sit in front of the Grand Central Station and weep <——  readers should know this reference!
The Grand Central Station, New York.

***

  • have a picnic at Central Park and visit the “people’s memorial” to John Lennon

***

  • visit Ellis Island and the Immigrant Museum

***

  • take the Staten Island passenger ferry (and pretend I’m Sandra Oh as part of the Grey’s Anatomy cast and on my way to Seattle Grace Hospital)
Sandra Oh as "Christina Yang" in Gray's Anatomy
Staten Island Ferry

***


  • visit Chinatown and buy myself the largest Chinese red bean sesame ball possible (and a new pair of intricately designed chopsticks)
Chinatown, New York
Chinese red bean sesame balls
Beautiful cheery blossom chopsticks

***

  • visit Little Italy for a killer panzerotti
Little Italy, New York
Panzerotti

***

  • visit the Radio Music Hall and ask in a loud voice, “Is this where they host Much Music?” (I’m from Toronto, so this is in honour of my home!)
Radio Music Hall, New York

***

  • visit the Metropolitan Museum of Art and steal as many pamphlets as I can to make a collage
Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York

***

  • visit the Guggenheim Museum and work hard against roller-blading in the interior
Guggenheim Museum interior

***

  • visit the 9/11 Memorial and pay my respects to those who were lost during the 9/11 attacks.
***
  • pretend I live in Greenwich Village…in THIS apartment because I love the blue door!
Apartment in Greenwich Village, New York

***

  • visit the Long Island wineries for wine tasting at Paumonok Vineyards, Macari Vineyards and Martha Clara Vineyards
Paumonok Vineyards wine

***

It’s worth the drive, don’t you think?

2. What’s your most recently read favorite book?

I have read a few and I’m still sentimental over the book, The Dovekeepers by Alice Hoffman. It’s a beautiful, lyrical read of historical fiction about the courage and empowerment of women who come together to become “the Dovekeepers.” I loved the character, Shirah, a sensual woman of magic, medicine, and independent power.

THE DOVEKEEPERS by Alice Hoffman

***

3. What’s your favorite Spring Break memory?

I’m from Canada, so Spring Break is referred to March Break here for the kids. Growing up, I think one of my favourite memories during March Break was being able to visit a Maple Tree farm and tap the trees for sap. Mmm…there’s nothing quite like Canadian maple syrup. And I was fascinated that the trees could provide us with something so wonderfully sweet!

Sugar house, Maple Farm

***

4. What do you put in your child’s Easter basket? Or, for those without children, what was put in your childhood basket?

My children have never had an Easter basket since we practice and celebrate Easter from a Christian perspective rather than a secular one, but I plan on decorating and hiding some eggs this year so they can enjoy an Easter Egg Hunt. I might even sport some Easter bunny ears!

Decorated Easter eggs, Polish tradition

***

5. Do you get a summer haircut?

In retrospect, I find that when I’m undergoing a change in attitude usually because of emotional crisis, I find that this manifests itself into a need for a new hairstyle. I’ve always looked at hair as an accessory that always grows back, so I’m not attached to my hairstyle as some other women are likely to be. I’ve experimented with a variety of hairstyles already including the:

Bob cut

My bob cut, which seems to be the cut I enjoy the most.

***

Pixie cut

My pixie cut, a great look in the heat of the summer.

***

Long hair

My hair long while I was pregnant with my daughter.

***

Bangs

My mother curled these bangs, ok?

***

Braids

I'd like to be able to grow my hair long again so I can give myself a French braid.

***

Even bald!

(But, I still have to find that picture…seriously, I was bald in highschool in my fourth year.)

 ***

Thanks for stopping by to check out my Five-Question-Friday answers! Stop by next week for more fun.

Zara Alexis

3 thoughts on “Five-Question Friday: 03.23.2012”

Leave a Reply

