My Wish List Wednesday: 03.21.2012

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez

Welcome to my first instalment of My Wish List Wednesday!

 Everyone’s got one. Somewhere in the recesses of a mind is a list of desire with huge, empty check boxes. Whether or not this list is openly shared or kept in the tightest of fireproof vaults, a list exists.

The wish list is so coveted that it needs to be locked away in a fireproof safe!

Why should you care about my wish list? You don’t have to. But, if you’re a blogger like myself, you’ll understand that we’re somewhat of an exhibitionist bunch. Why bother with all the work that entails maintaining a blog if this wasn’t at least 20% true?

"Peek-a-boo! Look at me!" Exhibitionist coffee cup by Brock Davis.

I have a couple of reasons for doing this:

  • Wish list starts with a “W” and is well matched for my Wednesday thematic weekly blog series.
  • I secretly hope that publishers who have published the books on my wish list will take pity on me and send me complimentary copies for review.
  • Perhaps an author’s ego will be reaffirmed that even though he/she isn’t a “prize-winning acclaimed author” yet, there’s a reader who loves him/her just the same!
  • It’s my hope that a person, even a secret admirer will perform an utterly random act of kindness and just send me what I want! Out of the blue! Out of the sheer kindness of their huge, huge heart!
  • And I also like my opinions. I agree with them. They belong to me. They are mine. And I like sharing them with the world. Or at least with my blog followers. <—- YES, my AWESOME, LOYAL, LOVING blog followers!!
***

And if all else fails, by the end of the year I’ll be able to print this series off, make photocopies, and send them out in the mail to my loved ones in time for Christmas shopping season or—I’ll just stick the pile under my husband’s nose and smile sweetly…expectantly.

For me?

Okay, so where did I put that list?

HERE IT IS!!!

***

Zara’s Wish List

1. My own vineyard.

***

Yes, I want to move to France and cultivate my own vineyard. I don’t consume a large amount of wine, but I do have a humble wine collection. Why buy a bottle if I can make it myself?

This ain’t no tomato patch. This is red. This is France. This is #1 on my wish list.

***

2. A baby blue vintage classic ladies cruiser bicycle.

She’s a beauty. She even comes with a hand-woven basket!

I went to a “Tupperware” party a few years ago for women of the occult. There was a psychic who read my palm and a woman who could read auras and speak of animal spirits. At this party, I was told that my totem animal is a crow that warns me of change.

In Korean mythology, the three-legged crow, SAMJOKGO is regarded as a symbol of power.

And that I’m quite an old soul having returned many times and in my previous life was killed by a pack of wolves, which explains my inherent fear of large dogs especially of the Beta-sort.

***

If this is true, I don't believe it was a bad death at all. HOWL!

Why am I sharing this with you? Because I find a severe attraction to all things vintage and highly suspect that this love is a remnant of past lives I’ve lived. Maybe. Or—I just like vintage stuff! Here’s #2 on my wish list: a vintage bicycle.

***

3. Nine Stories by J.D. Salinger

NINE STORIES by J.D. Salinger

***

I own a copy of this book. The problem is, I’ve read it so often that it’s become my own Velveteen Rabbit (book-version). Yellowing pages. Folded ones, too. Plus rips from too much handling. I’m in dire need of a new copy though I hold a soft spot for the one that has stayed with me throughout the years.

I wish Little Brown & Company could make it into a leather-bound version for collectors like myself! But, I’ll settle for a new hardcover copy. Anyone? Anyone?!?

I better stop here. Because my list is LOOOO—-NNNNNN—-GGGG! Need to save some more items for My Wish List Wednesday post next week.

***

We all have stories. J.D. Salinger had at least nine. For My Wish List Wednesday, what’s your favourite short story? 

***

Zara Alexis


4 thoughts on “My Wish List Wednesday: 03.21.2012”

  1. What a great list! I especially love the blue bicycle! I want a beach cruiser- and a beach to cruise on!

    My fave short story is The Mother’s Dance by WP Kinsella, from his book The Moccasin Telegraph.

    1. Thanks for dropping by and sharing! I have not yet had the chance to read “The Mother’s Dance,” but now that you’ve recommended it, I’ll be sure to take a look. It’s a great bicycle, right? I love it! I want one! 😀

  2. Hi Zara,
    I was searching for a blue bike and clicked on your wish list, the bike is beautiful exactly what I want and I too dream of a vineyard in France!
    I also write books, you have an impressive list of publishers you read for, wow!

Leave a Reply

