HCC March Madness Poem

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez

In honour of Round 2 of HCC March Madness, I’ve written a poem:

***

Do you have room in this Post-Birthday World

in the hour I first believed in the space between us?

I don’t want to kill a mockingbird.

I want to run to a tree that grows in Brooklyn

as a reliable wife, a secret daughter.

But, I heart Paris on this given day.

It makes me spin like death on the Nile.

The next pact is for one more day, the will to live

to speak in our mother tongues,

Marley and me, little princes

our freakonomics predicatably irrational

like Zen and the art of motorcycle maintenance.

It’s March. It’s madness.

The happiness project moves on.

***

To vote in Round 2 of the HCC March Madness book event, visit:

Leave a Reply

