Meet Me on Monday: 03.12.12

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez

Acting Balanced

Okay, so it’s Tuesday and I’m a day late. I just saw the linky! And somewhere in the world, it’s still technically Monday.

Based on the original Meet Me on Monday hosted by Java at Never Growing Old, Acting Balanced will ask five questions on Sunday evening along with a linky for participants to post answers!

Here are today’s questions (and my answers):

1. What are your plans for St. Patrick’s Day?

I will most likely cram my son’s homework assignments into one night since we neglected to do it over the March Break week. And because it’s a Saturday and the water rates are lower than any other day of the week, I’m probably going to do loads of laundry. Like five. And then I will choose a  winner for the Dr. Seuss 108th Birthday Book Giveaway Contest since its closing on March 16. And in rebellion to the day’s festivities, I will not wear green, but will most likely scrounge my backyard for a four-leaf clover.

***

2. What is your favorite room in your house?

I love my recently renovated nursery-turned-home-office. My desk is right by the window, which allows me opportunity for distraction and witness to those who dare enter my driveway. It’s also a room that contains the most recent books that I’m reading; an array of my favourite trinkets from a miniature geisha doll ornament, my red decorated Chinese money envelopes, my Indian elephant, my felt and feathered toy mouse, and my three lucky coins (to name a few). It’s the place where I feel the most creative.

My Zara doll peering over my night lamp while I work.

***

3. What ‘gadget’ do you have that you can’t live without?

My NetBook. It’s small and mobile. Like me.

 ***

4. What will your first thought be when you learn that you won a lottery?

“Oh, thank God! Now, I can pay everything off, change my name and identity, relocate to France and buy some land to begin harvesting my own vineyard. And then as soon as I’ve set a portion aside for my children, their education, and their futures, I think I’ll donate some winnings to a literacy program and/or adopt a library—and then I’ll finally get that nose job.”

OR—

“Now, how can I work this into my blog?…”

***

5. Other than Acting Balanced and your own, what is your favorite blog to read?

Kvetch Mom.  Her and I share the same kind of sense of humour. Reading her posts make me laugh out loud—LOUDLY! This doesn’t happen often with other sites. She’s a kindred. And she’s most likely my long lost “good” twin.

 distraction no. 99 by Nova Ren Suma. Her blog focuses on books and creative writing. I thoroughly enjoy her creative writer “Turning Points” feature of guest blog posts by writers who share the personal “turning point” they experienced in their writing careers. It’s part practical advice and part inspirational message.

To access other links and see who else is a part of this blog hop, please see: MMOM.
One thought on “Meet Me on Monday: 03.12.12”

Leave a Reply

