Zara’s Book Giveaway #1 – Black History Month (Feb)

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez

And the winner is…

Lindsay (at Turning the Pages)

Valentine’s Day has come and gone. It was a day for wearing red and your heart on your sleeve, plus a chance to enjoy some chocolate goodness, and perhaps receive a card or small token of love.

But, at the Bibliotaphe’s Closet, love for books never end.

If you’ve been following my blog or know me well, you’d know that I’m somewhat of a book giveaway contest junkie. I love winning books to add to my closet collection almost as much as I love reading them. And my lucky reading stars have been with me—but, I trust it has more to do with my tenacity and the kindness of the giveaway hosts.

It’s also February (well, almost the end of February) and in affirmation of this month as Black History Month and a time to provide an opportunity to learn more about and be inspired by the history of African Canadians and Americans, it can also be a time to recommit ourselves in continuing to build an inclusive place to live. I believe that’s something we should do everyday of every month!

In celebration of all this post-Valentine’s and book-giveaway love, as well as February as Black History Month, I’ve decided to host a book giveaway!

So, what does the lucky winner get?

The 1937 classic, Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston. This is a brand new, unread copy!

Although race is a significant motif in the book, it is not, by any means, a central theme. It is also a book about the protagonist’s own personal journey to independence and emancipation, plus her acknowledgement of a full relationship as one that is based on reciprocal love and respect. My kind of book.

Some facts about the author:

  1. Zora and I share almost the same name.
  2. The author’s birthday on January 7, is a day after mine.
  3. She is the fifth of eight children.
  4.  Her university’s (Howard University) literary magazine published her first story in 1921.
  5. In 1926, she collaborated with Langston Hughes and Wallace Thurman to organize the literary journal Fire!
  6. Zora Neale Hurston was also criticized for refusing to bow to gender conventions during her time.
  7. She fell into obscurity for a number of years in the 1940’s.
  8. After she died on January 28, 1960, she was buried in an unmarked grave.

What can we learn from this?

  1. For one thing, it never hurts to publish in your university’s literary magazine. Be sure to support your school’s literary journals and events.
  2. As an aspiring writer, it helps to surround yourself with friends and peers who share your passion for the craft. You never know where this might lead you.
  3. Be yourself, even if it means society may frown upon your personal conventions or writing style. New, creative genius usually meets with hesitation and harsh judgement.
  4. Though you may be “unknown” author now, well-crafted work can find itself becoming one of the most important works in a generation or an all-time classic.

Giveaway Rules:

  1. This giveaway is open to U.S. and Canada only. You must have a valid email and mailing address to qualify. No P.O. Box addresses accepted.
  2. You must be 15 years old or older to enter.
  3. You must follow my blog by email to enter. Click on the widget on the right-hand side of my blog and let me know in your comments that you’ve done this.
  4. You must leave a meaningful comment that answers the contest questions in order to qualify for the giveaway.
  5. Only one entry per person, excluding extra-earned entries.
  6. Winner must respond to notification within 48 hours to claim prize. If winner fails to claim prize, a new winner will be chosen.

To enter:

1. Leave a meaningful comment on this post by answering these questions: What book did you love that you have read recently that has helped you grow in understanding of a culture that is different from yours? How? AND When is my birthday? (You can find the answer to the second question by reading my post.) – Be sure to leave your email address so I can contact you.

2. Follow me on Twitter for an extra entry (+1). Click on my Twitter widget on the right-hand side of my blog. Let me know in your comments that you’ve done this.

3. Tweet about this giveaway on Twitter for three extra entries (+3). Copy & paste your link of the tweet in your comments. You may tweet once per day, everyday until the contest closes. Please be sure to include link to the giveaway. Your tweet can look something like this:

Enter to win a book #giveaway at The Bibliotaphe’s Closet!  Ends March 2. www.zaralexis.wordpress.com

4. Be my friend on Goodreads for an extra entry (+1). Click the Goodreads widget on the right-hand side of my blog. Let me know in your comments that you’ve done this.

5. Giveaway contest deadline: Friday, March 2, 2012 at 9:00 p.m. EST

Good luck! And happy reading!

3 thoughts on “Zara’s Book Giveaway #1 – Black History Month (Feb)”

  1. Hi Zara… Eeek, I am all nervous and feel like I’m at a final exam!!

    Okay – the book that I most recently read that helped me grow was The Book of Negroes by Lawrence Hill. Why? How could it not, really! I was so moved by this book, the imagry left me speechless and the overall story was so moving that I found myself researching more into the actual ‘Book of Negroes’. STUNNING novel!

    Your birthday is January 6th!! 🙂

    I am a Twitter follower, and tweeted about it ( https://twitter.com/#!/TTPBookReview/status/172687449401729025 )… also, a goodreads buddy! ❤

    Love your BFFFB,
    Lindsay @ Turning the Pages
    lindsay(at)turningthepages(dot)ca

Leave a Reply

