How Harry Potter Has Infiltrated Our House! 04.26.2012

How Harry Potter Has Infiltrated Our House!

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez

It seems Harry Potter is more than a fictional-character-turned-movie-star! He’s slowly, but surely infiltrated our house—and just in the past few weeks.

First, I won an impromptu giveaway contest from Michele at Just a Lil’ Lost. And what fun little item did I get? My very own Potted Potter Harry Potter glasses!

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince in hardcover and the Potted Potter glasses.

And then my luck grew with the kind generosity of David Abrams of The Quivering Pen when he snagged a Kindle for himself and decided to give his print copy of Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince away. It was up for grabs and my name was pulled out of Harry Potter’s magical hat. You know it, don’t you? The Sorting Hat! And it picked me!

The Sorting Hat in Harry Potter.

I entered another contest just in passing (the Hoppy Easter Eggstravaganza Giveaway Hop at The Book Garden) since I follow a number of book blogs and random.org must have had some lottery love and pity for me because when it comes to Rafflecopter or Random.org, I very rarely win. But I won!

I received a beautiful necklace pendant of my choice from Pretty Little Charms, UK on etsy just yesterday. It’s a quote from the young wizard:

"You'll stay with me?" "Until the very end," Harry Potter pendant from Pretty Little Charms, UK. (c) Photo by Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez.

And then last night, while in my home office tidying up, my two-year-old daughter who I had already put to bed says, Alohomora!”—and saunters into the room. And poof!

The Alohomora incantation is used to open and/or unlock doors! Lucky for her, the door to my home office isn’t bewitched!

And what does she do? She decides she’s Harry Potter. Not Hermoine, not Ron, not Dumbledore, not even Luna Lovegood! (I LOVE Luna. If I could be any wizard in the Harry Potter series, I’d be her.)

Luna Lovegood. My favourite character in the Harry Potter series.

Seriously. I did not coerce her. She climbed out of her bunk bed, put on her old brother’s black jacket, wore his old school tie (which I tied for the photograph), and sported those glasses like she was indeed Harry himself.

“Harry Potter wond!,” she said. (That’s how she said it. Don’t worry, I know how to spell, wand!)

M. dressed up as Harry Potter. (HER IDEA.)

Yup, I had to lend her my Chinese art brush because she doesn’t have her own wizard wand yet. Will have to change that.

M. compromised with a Chinese art brush as a wand in lieu of a promise to go shopping at Diagon Alley.

Now, if we could only find Diagon Alley so we could go shopping! This would explain my inherent attraction to owls and the crow as my totem animal. I just don’t have the heart to tell my little one that she’s a Muggle since her Daddy is clearly not a wizard—unless of course, he’s keeping that to himself!

A special thanks to all the book bloggers: Michele, David, and Birgit (and Leigh of Pretty Little Charms, UK) for sharing their Harry Potter love. It’s made a difference to me and especially to my daughter, the wizard-in-training.

***

Who’s your favourite Harry Potter character? Who do you most identify with? 

Which is your favourite magic spell?

If you attended Hogwarts School, which house do you think the Sorting Hat would put you in?

***

9 thoughts on “How Harry Potter Has Infiltrated Our House! 04.26.2012”

    1. Thanks Jeyna! I wanted to put her hair up, but she wasn’t having it. And she just loves the Harry Potter glasses. They were my prize, but she’s claimed them. Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting. :D

Leave a Reply

